Writing

20130905-221702.jpg

Photo © Sabrina Wolfheart
Text in Photo © Dan Brown from Inferno

Before I start posting about my experiences, I thought I’d start by writing a blog post about each of my hobbies. These include (but aren’t limited to) writing, photography, and traveling.

I have been writing for as long as I can remember. In kindergarten, while all the other kids drew abstract scribbles representing their family, I chose a black crayon and pretended to write on a blank sheet of printer paper. When I got home, I’d “read” my 50-page novels to my mom. Once, I remember the teacher caught me taking so many sheets, she banned me from drawing for the rest of the day.

I started crying, because I never had anything to do except draw and fake-write. But the next day I just went back to writing, trying to use as few sheets of paper as possible, while still fitting the same amount of “words” onto them.

I guess that’s why my writing, to this day, is so small and cramped! (Though my affinity for purplish-blue ink and paper mate pens will go forever unexplained.)

So there you have it, in a nutshell. My very first writing memory.

I can still remember writing sequels to my favorite Disney movies on strangely lined paper in second grade and writing my own versions of Ike the Dog (a very strange picture book for fifth graders picturing a dog named Ike and his adventures) in the aforementioned fifth grade. But I guess it wasn’t until middle school—really I should say seventh grade—that my writing really took off.

 

A family-friend’s daughter introduced me to NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month, which takes place every November. Now, you’ll hear me mention NaNoWriMo a lot on this blog. No matter how hard I try, NaNoWriMo always has a very strange way of appearing in my posts about writing (you can definitely find more about NaNoWriMo and my writing on my old blog).

So anyways.

NaNoWriMo (pronounced Nah-Know-Rye-Moe, though I personally say it Nah-No-Re-Moe) is an free online writing event funded by the Office of Letters and Light, a nonprofit organization. Every November, millions of novelists (and aspiring novelists) from around the world flock together to try and write 50,000 words in one month. Of a novel. Ready, set, go!

Okay, maybe it isn’t quite like that. But you get the gist.

Back to the story: in seventh grade, I joined NaNoWriMo’s Young Writer’s Program, since I was too young to join the official NaNo. Anyways, I met my goal (which was only 10,000 words, as YWP NaNo lets you choose your goal), and ended up with…. A really bad story-novella thing.

Anyways, for some strange reason I cannot quite fathom (probably the fact that I thought my story was good. I mean, can you imagine that? A 17,000 word, written-in-thirty-days story, good? I wrote anyways, and kind of revised.

That’s kind of what started to kick me into writing mode, and now that it’s been a couple years, I’m ready to try 50,000 words, the real NaNoWriMo, for the first ti

me. Okay, how did this post go from my first, heartfelt writing memory to NaNoWriMo today? I do not know. But as I said, I can’t get through a writing post without mentioning NaNoWriMo, intentionally or not.

Well, I wanted to end this post really sentimentally and all, but I think right now I’m just talking a lot about NaNoWriMo.
So here’s something to think about: my 30-week writing challenge! No, seriously. Go check out some of my work and let me know what you think of it.

Bye!
~ S

One response to “Writing

  1. Pingback: Harry Potter is…overrated. | National Novel Writing Month | The Blog That Made No Sense·

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

