NaNoWriMo, Day 24

Image Courtesy of National Novel Writing Month

Image Courtesy of National Novel Writing Month

National Novel Writing Month, Day 24. What a thrill ride.

On Day 21, I had 31,762 words. Six minutes ago (it’s 12:06 AM right now) I hit the 38,298 word mark, and I’m on my way to 40,000! How did this happen in two days? Seven thousand words?!

Well, first off, I want to thank my English teacher for the 4,072 words of essay writing she made us do this month. It’s not part of my novel, I know, but hey, I’m a student, and busier than most adults these days. I didn’t have time to come up with 4,072 words of plot today.

To top it all off, I’ve been sick most of this week, which means I haven’t been up to novel-writing much. And my villain decided to come in and steal the show on another boring day of novelling. I mean, seriously? Couldn’t she have waited a second? Okay. That’s enough of talking about that story for eleven minutes (as it’s now 12:11 AM. Wow, I write slow!).

The thing is, I wrote this post to take a break. To get out of my novelling groove, per say, for just ten minutes. I’ve been word-sprinting all day to reach 2,000 words, and then I fell 100 words short. Just 100 words. I feel like such a weakling. What if it’s November 30th, and I’m trying to finish my novel, and I’m almost there and… I fall 100 words behind when I was just so close? I’m serious. For lunch today, I had a cup of writing soup along with a side of plot twist. Seriously? Now? And I have NO IDEA where I’m going with the story, since last night I completely erased the most significant memories my character had.

Why? Because at that time, it was essential to the plot; it took up about 10 pages, a seventh of my novel, so now I’ve got to just go with it.

And when I wake up tomorrow morning, I’ll get to write again.

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

