Leaving Behind Blogs

Image

People leave blogs behind so easily. I’ve done it myself. One day, you just say, “I’m going to start a blog!” and the next day, you forget to post. You become lethargic, procrastinating. You don’t post for days. Days become weeks. Weeks become months. Months become years. Years become decades. Your blog just sits there, untouched by anyone. Your followers, who were so hopeful for new posts on your blog, have given up on it.

People give up on blogs so easily. I’ve done it myself. Blogging becomes… well, to be frank, BORING after a while, once you’ve exhausted all the burning topics inside of you or realized how much effort it takes to actually write a decently-lengthed blog post. I myself have followed so many promising young bloggers who really showed a lot of potential in the blogging world. But in the end, they get wrapped up in their own lives, doing what they think is “more important” than blogging. I’m not saying that there aren’t things more important than blogging, because there definitely are (please, walk the dog and eat and pay the bills!), but I am a firm believer in the NaNoWriMo mantra: There is no good excuse not to write a novel (or in this case a blog post). You have to make time to write your novel (or, again, in this case your blog post).

Some people lose sight of the point in blogging. Not every post gets 1,000 views and earns you 200 followers. I myself only have 223 hits on this blog. The point of blogging isn’t to get a lot of people to follow you, it’s to get your ideas out there, or keep a little online diary, or an informational journal, or a book review site, or whatever you want. When people don’t get followers, they get discouraged, and when they get discouraged, they stop writing and leave their blogs, leaving their few followers disappointed. I have just 25 followers between my Tumblr blog and this one, yet I keep typing up posts. Why? Everyone has their own reasons. I keep this blog because it’s a great source to write something on, even when I don’t have a story. And, if I ever post a story or poem online, it’s a great base to get critiqued.

It also feels GREAT every year during NaNoWriMo to receive supportive comments from all the other writers out there. For me, blogging is simply just a fun thing to do. I’ve left behind my fair share of blogs in my life, but I always try to either delete them if they have no followers or notify my followers as to where my new blog or website is to be located.

By doing this, though, I managed to establish a name on the internet. Although it’s not my real name, if you look up “Sabrina Wolfheart” on Google, the first page and half of the second page is dedicated to… me. My blogs, websites, and book reviews are the first two pages of Google. But if you look up my real name… it’s all other people with the same name that I happen to have. There’s only one thing that shows up actually BY ME, and that’s a short story I got published online under my real name.

One of the things I’ve found by scouring the internet until I found the right blog (this one) is that: platform matters. People might say that it doesn’t matter what platform you use, whether it be wordpress, blogger, tumblr, or weebly, but it does. Search engines tend to pick up Blogger blogs and WordPress blogs easier than any other site. However, since there is no easy “follow” system through blogger, people tend not to get as many follows as on WordPress.

And though Tumblr doesn’t show up very easily on most search engines (my blog, sabrinawolfheart, is trumped by a blog titled sabrina-wolfheart, which used to be my blog’s old URL), I still get a lot of likes and follows because of the already-huge community there.

Basically: how easy it is to follow a blog determines its success.

I just thought I would put that out there 🙂

Happy Blogging,

S

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

