Blogging in Balance

Blogging Challenge

Lately, I’ve been busy. I’ve volunteered, worked day and night on Pits4PEACE, and tried my best to memorize my part for Mock Trial (I ended up memorizing it). I’ve even worked on my novel a little. I just haven’t had time to write on my blog.

Well, truthfully, I have had the time, I just haven’t done it yet. For the past two weekends, I watched a marathon for seasons one and two of Doctor Who. So I created some blogging challenges for myself (I must say, I adore number two; I’m a huge font nerd… Why have I not mentioned that on this blog yet?).

Mostly, I just haven’t been able to think of what to write about. The last couple posts I wrote back in December/January didn’t get a good reception, so I’ve been brainstorming on how to make my writing… how it used to be. My blog isn’t really just for me. Well, I admit it IS fun managing this thing, but really, I could have just as easily made this a private blog, or written it all down in a document or a journal.

Mostly, I write this blog because I want to see how people respond to things, like my writing and photography. Since I started this blog, I’ve gotten a generally good reception, and the largest readership of any blog or website I’ve ever

Overall Blog

created (61 people and 490 hits? Wow!).

So naturally, I’ve wanted to see what people like. And so when people don’t like something, I stop posting about it, and instead talk to my friends about it, or write it down on a word document, or a journal.

Because I’m proud to say “My blog, which isn’t the normal, teenagery-nonproductive blog, which actually TALKS ABOUT SOMETHING, has pretty much gotten at least one like on each post for the past ten posts” or whatever my stats are. So I decided to create for myself a list of blogging challenges, to use whenever I need to so I can have something to write about. 

My goal is to write at least one post a week for the next year. Yes, that’s right. The next year. That’s around fifty-two posts a year. It doesn’t seem like a lot, and I’ll probably post more than once some weeks and not post some, but it’ll be somewhere around that number (or, hopefully, more).

Pits4peace-logo

Click me to visit the Pits4PEACE website!

But I want it to be known, and I want my readers to understand that I can’t always manage this blog.

It’s not the only thing in my life, and definitely not the most important. I have dreams and ambitions beyond this (and no, those do not include watching the next episode of Doctor Who, or Psych, or Sherlock, or any other one of those tempting, wonderful television programmes, as I believe it is spelled). These dreams and ambitions include the fight for pit bull rights and awareness, which I’ve voiced my thoughts for through my advocacy organization, Pits4PEACE (which I should really write a post on; it’s on my 2014 Bucket List).

This cause is life or death for some animals, and I truly love it, in addition to my other volunteer work with dogs and cats. And therefore, it ranks above my interest in blogging.

I want to blog, I really do; and I don’t want things like watching television or lazing around to get in the way of that. But when I’m actually, really, truly, passionately involved in something… that always has to come first.

– S

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

