March Madness

20140310-221939.jpg

Image courtesy of NaNoWriMo

I haven’t worked on my novel in a while. Earnestly, I mean. Not just jotting down a sentence or two, but actually working on it, trying to see where it’s going and actually advancing the plot. Until this weekend. I had a clarinet audition today, and the world of blogging helps as a stress-reliever. So blogging off I went, making small updates and tweaks to this site and planning to release a million new wonderful posts… Until NaNoWriMo decided to pop in and drop me an email.

Camp NaNoWriMo starts in a month. And the badges look really cool and spectacular this year, and they’re letting you set your own word-count, so why not?

But there’s just one problem, you see. One VERY BIG problem.

My half-finished novel. From two years ago. Which I STILL haven’t finished.

Working on the same project for two years gets to your creative brain. For two whole years, only just this one story. Sitting there. For two years.

I’m totally ready to start (and finish!) a new project. But after all this time, I just can’t leave that half-finished wreck to just sit there.

So I’ve made a sort of… resolution. One that doesn’t really have to be accomplished, but it would be fun to do, at least to my crazy, over active writerly brain.

If I manage to finish my current novel by April 1st, I will wholeheartedly let myself—in fact I will immerse myself—in starting a brand-new project, hot off my brain-griddle, and just let myself see where this takes me. In a new direction.

Wow. What a feeling that would be. A new direction.

So welcome to my March Madness! A crazy venture to try myself to get from 55,000 words to the end of my novel (approximately 60,000 – 65,000 words) by the end of the busiest month of the year. And also come up with a new idea for a project. And by that I mean not the one that’s been sitting around for five years.

Oh, and yeah. It’s nearly halfway through the month. Ready, set, write!

– S

8 responses to “March Madness

  1. I wish you the best of luck! Maybe I’ll join you in trying to finish a project (I’ve got a thingy I’ve been meaning to write for a while now). If you need brainstorming help, you know where to find me 😛

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

