Welcome to Camp

campNaNoWriMo has always been something I loved. Writing non-stop for one crazy month of the year? Who could resist? I definitely can’t. I’ve come back year after year, pushed to write my novels, fascinated by the amazing community that is there. But April’s Camp NaNoWriMo is especially close to my heart.

Two years ago, on March 27, 2012, I sat on my bed trying to come up with an idea for ScriptFrenzy, which started in two days… And an idea came. It’s possibly the most unique idea of my entire writing career, and it came with possibly the most difficult characters I’d ever had to write. It’s been an amazing journey, and I’m planning to finish it right where it started: April’s NaNoWriMo challenge.

I’ve set my goal for 60,000 words, but that isn’t much, considering I wrote nearly 54,000 of those words during NaNoWriMo in November. I didn’t dare set my goal any higher, in case my novel, a YA Sci-fi, got too long. In a way, this feels like the last time I’ll ever come to Camp; working on the same novel for two years has gotten me a little bit emotionally attached.

tentSo I’ve decided to start off the book with something new. Something fresh. Something… exciting. I want to do what I’ve never done before: I want to share a bit of my novel. I’ve found the best bit I could possibly find (don’t worry, I haven’t proofread it yet… it was just skimming). I wrote this in the days after NaNoWriMo, sitting there, just pumping the words out. It’ll probably be cut from the final draft, but to me it’s just beautiful, the way the words flow together and tell me exactly what I want to know. Okay. I’m taking a deep breath. Here goes:

My mother had always said that eyes were the key into a man’s soul; sometimes, when the rest of them is hooded and masked in their youth, their eyes are the key to their elderliness, their fragility, everything they hold dear to them. All in their eyes. It was true for him, at least at this moment, looking into his eyes. I was intrigued and frightened at the same time, afraid to look into those complex, saddened eyes, and yet the truths and secrets written in their depths fascinated me.

Some of it might not make sense, and it certainly doesn’t seem as part of a sci-fi, but it is. No, no romance. Just sci-fi, and lots and lots of secrets.

Happy April NaNo, guys! Have a complimentary motivational calendar. I think you’re going to need it:

camp_nanowrimo_april_2013_by_revois-d5y192v

 

– S

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

