A Piece of Writing Motivation for the Procrastinating Writer: WriMo Edition

black-background-opened-notebook-book-notebook_368664-1.jpgLife gets in the way of things. It’s a fact of life, accepted by all, loathed by many.

Life gets in the way of watching that Doctor Who marathon you’ve been meaning to get around to for ages. It keeps you from helping out other people. And most of all, it keeps you from writing.

NaNoWriMo helps me avoid that. I’m actually completely opposed to the idea of writing a novel in a month. It turns out the worst work, the most two-dimensional characters, the shortest, most rushed, most desperation-filled novel. But there’s one thing about NaNoWriMo, one magic thing that keeps me coming back, year after year, month after month, NaNoWriMo after Camp NaNoWriMo after Camp NaNoWriMo after NaNoWriMo: the fact that it urges me to keep writing.

1a1a1agooglepickmepickmepickmeI can’t tell a person how many times I’ve searched up the words “how to write a novel” (I’m not exaggerating; check out the screenshot on the left for proof), when I’ve gotten desperate in the middle of NaNoWriMo, afraid I won’t be able to hit the pre-appointed goal of 50,000 words. But I do it. At the end of each month–whether I’ve participated in the self-set goals of NaNoWriMo’s YWP or Camp programs, or felt the sweet success of hitting 50k–I reach my goal.

That doesn’t necessarily mean that I finish a novel, but it gives me a feeling of self-confidence. A feeling of success that I can’t bring myself to without the help of that wonderful program.

But the point is: life gets in the way, but you can’t keep yourself from writing. You do it during NaNoWriMo, every November. Why can’t you do it now? That’s the question I ask myself every day, when I feel as if I can’t write another word or raise my finger and tap the tenth key in the fifth column of my keyboard (the “.” button).

Don’t let life get in the way. Life’s a little thing, there to aid us in accomplishing our ultimate goal: what we live for. For me, that’s writing. It’s a paradox, but it makes sense.

– S

4 responses to “A Piece of Writing Motivation for the Procrastinating Writer: WriMo Edition

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

