Summer at Stanford

logo_Stanford_SES

About a week ago, I was excited to see an email from the internships admissions officer of Stanford Earth Sciences, arrive in my inbox. That is, I’d already received several emails from her—one of them a polite rejection from the program. Well, judging from the title of this post, I think you can guess what it may have said.

That’s right. I’d been placed on the wait list for an Earth Sciences Internship, and somehow, miraculously, I had gotten in.

Fast forward to today.

Yesterday, I got another email from her.

She’d already explained to me that there were no more lab positions available, but I had been placed into another position dealing with Generation Anthropocene. Like most of you who are reading this blog post, I did not know what “Generation Anthropocene” was supposed to be. I mean, Microsoft Word didn’t even recognize it as from the dictionary. The anthropocene is an emerging field, which studies human impact on geology. Like, did you know that we are actually shifting Earth’s tectonic plates? I’m going to be doing work for them transcribing their audio podcasts into written transcripts, learning about audio production, doing my own interviews, and following up with previous guests from podcasts(!), as well as helping out with other anonymous projects around the place. I’ll be working in the Branner Earth Sciences Library fifteen to twenty hours a week.

Along with the email she sent me were guidelines. As a blogger, one stood out to me more than the others (and I quote!):

“I commit to writing blog posts on time. You will write 3 blog posts (1-3 paragraphs) on your experience as an intern.”

One to three paragraphs? One to three pages sounds more like it!

I was scrolling through the blogs of past interns, and I realized that I could do so much more. So this summer I’ve decided to do a weekly feature called “Summer at Stanford” on Books and Bark about my work and experiences being an intern. I haven’t gotten my schedule yet, but I’m thinking I’ll be posting my features on Fridays, Saturdays, or Sundays.

My first official day is June 17, and I was planning on writing my first Summer at Stanford post then, but I am way too excited for my own good. I’ll be keeping you posted.

– S

One response to “Summer at Stanford

  1. Pingback: What’s Up Wednesday | Featuring Books, Writing, Inspiration, and Other Random Things | Books and Bark·

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

