What’s Up Wednesday | Week One

KITERUFFLED2So this is just a little weekly thing I’ve started doing; I’ve seen it around other bloggers’ blogs, and I thought it was pretty cool, so why not give it a try? It’ll cover what I’m reading, what I’m writing, what inspires me, and other stuff that’s going on. I know I have been MIA lately (just got back from a LONG blogging break; two weeks is now long for me), so I thought this would be a good way for my readers to get updated on my life a little bit. Enjoy 🙂 (Oh, and thanks to Victoria Davenport over at Coffee. Write. Repeat. for doing this, so I could find it too!)

WHAT I’M READING

Currently, I’m reading Sarah’s Key, a sort of historical fiction by Tatiana de Rosnay. Sarah, a ten-year-old Jew during the Holocaust, locks her brother in their secret closet when the French Police come to deport their family to concentration camps during the hushed-up Velodrome d’Hiver. Sixty years later, Julia Jarmond, a journalist, is assigned to commemorate the Sixtieth Anniversary of the Vel d’Hiv with an article.

I’m not too far into the book, so I’m not really quite sure what to say about it. I feel like it focuses a lot on Julia’s personal life, rather than the Vel d’Hiv, which was what I really found interesting about this book. It’s definitely worth a read though, or at least a look.

It’s quite sad, as it IS a Holocaust book, and many people will probably die (in fact, most of the children of the Vel d’Hiv were killed, historically). I love how the brother’s state is unknown throughout the book (at least so far), which has been keeping me going. I also want to see where Sarah reappears sixty years later, because so far, the “present” has just been Julia’s perspective, with no mention of Sarah, or whether she survived. Hopefully, I’ll end up writing a review for it once I finish with it.

I’m also reading Beowulf for my English class, which I also haven’t gotten very far into, and I’m going to be reading Grendel, by John Gardner, sometime this summer as well.

WHAT I’M WRITING

Part of the reason I thought it would be a good idea to do What’s Up Wednesday is because you guys have practically NO IDEA what I’m writing these days. I recently finished my previous novel, and have been editing that for quite a while. I’m not going to bore you with details of editing (you can read enough about that in my last post), but…

…I have a new work-in-progress. Finally!

It’s working title is Dear Melody. It centers on (you guessed it!) a teenage girl named Melody, who enjoys (you guessed it!) writing. It’s got a few plot twists, though 😉

It’s at that stage where I’ve gotten over my fear of first pages and moved on to the part where I’m super pumped and super excited about where my novel’s going. The words and ideas have been flowing naturally, and strangely, although I’m editing my previous manuscript concurrently, I’m not too worried about where I’ll have to make edits. I haven’t got much of a plot, but I love my characters’ voices, and it’s so easy to write and differentiate between each POV I’m writing from (spoiler: it’s written from two points of view!). I hope it’ll stay that way for a long time.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Currently, I’m totally being pumped up by the upcoming Camp NaNoWriMo. Just the idea of a new novel that’s not The CyberWorld is making me excited about everything writing. We’ll see just how long that lasts. 😀

I’ve also been inspired by fonts. I know I haven’t talked much about my love for fonts, but I can identify most Microsoft Word fonts on sight (I know, you’re totally jealous, right?), and one of my favorite parts of writing is picking out a new font to write each story in.

I’m currently in the mood for Franklin Gothic Book and Avenir Next Condensed–both fonts that my novel is typeset in.

Oh, well. Maybe it’s just the novel that’s inspiring me right now, anyways.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Today was my first day of my internship at Stanford Earth Sciences! If you recall my post from a few weeks ago, you might remember that I talked about Generation Anthropocene. If you can’t remember much about it, I’ve been so excited that I’ve created a little page explaining it and what I’m doing with it. I’m working to preserve their podcasts by transcribing them, so that future generations can look back on them, which I think is really cool. So, world, remember me in a few hundred years’ time, when you look back and read through those transcripts!

And that’ll be about it.

Have a great week, everyone! ❤

Sabrina

5 responses to “What’s Up Wednesday | Week One

  1. Thank you so much 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed and wanted to do your own! I don’t know if I ever finished Sarah’s Key, though I read it some years ago. I thought the history of it was very interesting, but some of the plot lines were too obscure and intertwined, and I lost interest (I think because of the focus on her personal life, also). So glad you’re getting excited about writing this new project! You can go through it with me, since we’re at the exact same point 🙂 Wishing you the best of luck both with your writing and internship. Have a great week!

    • I’m always looking for fun things to blog about 🙂 I really doubt I would have found this if it wasn’t for your blog, so thank you!
      Sarah’s Key is currently on hold right now… it just hasn’t held my attention so much. I love the history and Sarah’s story, but I’m not so sure about Julia’s… My mom read the book before me and said it was definitely worth a read, but it wasn’t the best book she’s ever read. The bookshop lady who recommended this to me loved it, though, so everyone to their own, I guess. 🙂
      Yes! 😀 It’ll be nice to have someone else I know also at the same stage of writing–all of my writing buddies are at the nearly-finished-or-halfway mark.
      Thanks! Good luck on staying motivated for your novel as well! 😀
      I hope you feel better soon! 😦 –> 🙂

      – Sabrina

    • Thank you! Writing the post was quite fun, I’m planning to participate next week as well. 😀

      It is very exciting! I’ve learned a lot about the Anthropocene; I don’t mention it too much, but science is one of the loves that I don’t write too much about on my blog.

      And thank you for your good wishes! 🙂

  2. Pingback: What’s Up Wednesday | Week 2 | Books and Bark·

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

