WeWriWa | Dear Melody Excerpt

This weekend, I’m trying out Weekend Writing Warriors (or WeWriWa) for the first time. I’m sharing the first 8 sentences of Dear Melody with you! 😀

A Short Note, Just To Intrigue You, Because Melody Would Have Loved That:

Melody was born in the United States on June 5th, 1999. She travelled the world, living in Brazil, China, England, France, Australia, Africa, Canda, and even Antarctica before finally settling in the United States at the age of 14. She crossed the mark of a century, made true friends, and built a brand-new, permanent life for herself in the United States.

And when she was twenty years old, it was all ripped away.  

Melody died on May 27th, 2029.

She was 29 years old.

That same day, I was born.

Blog Post and Novel Excerpt © Sabrina Wolfheart & the Books and Bark blog

________________________________________________________________

(I know, I know, guys. I’ve been trying out lots of new stuff this week. Mostly thanks to the fact that I have found Victoria Davenport’s blog [which is absolutely amazing, by the way].)

So there you have it. I’m sorry for the terribleness of the excerpt; it hasn’t been edited yet. Like at all. I’m only allowed to share 8 sentences of it with you, but if all goes well, I’ll hopefully be posting a continuation (or at least 8 other sentences from somewhere in the manuscript) next Sunday. By the way, the heading (the top sentence in bold where the excerpt begins) is also part of the excerpt, and I counted it as a sentence.

It was really fun writing this, and playing around with everything (I just wrote it a few days ago, so super new!). It’s sort of a teaser than I’m sticking in the front to get readers intrigued 😉

So I hope you guys enjoyed that as much as I enjoyed writing & posting it! (Well, sort of. There were butterflies in my stomach as I hit the “publish” button.)

Happy 8Sunday,

3A8DB1E7BA0250AE3943BB53945DC23F

 

 

Blog Post and Novel Excerpt © Sabrina Wolfheart & the Books and Bark blog

38 responses to “WeWriWa | Dear Melody Excerpt

  1. Aww thank you so much 🙂 Very sweet. And welcome to the club! This is a great first 8…would be perfect for the front flap of a book, would definitely make me read more 🙂 Look forward to seeing more from you!

  2. Welcome Sabrina, so glad you joined us! This definitely raises questions for me and makes me want more. Job well done!

    • Thanks for the welcome! 🙂
      And what do you mean by the “old-fashionedness”? I’m assuming you’re talking about having me start with a main character’s name and birthdate. 😀
      – Sabrina

      • Yeah, that’s the kind of old-fashioned style I grew up reading, and miss seeing. I understand why the style changed, but there’s a lot to be said by opening with a little background into a character, the story, or the setting, instead of immediately jumping into action.

        • Exactly! Although I grew up with the jump-right-into-the-action type of story, I enjoy learning about the characters and who they are, instead of being thrust into the middle of some drama!
          Thanks for the compliments 😉
          – Sabrina

  3. Welcome to WWW. Intriguing start, the final sentence is what really ties it together and promises a link which raises questions. Of course, promises like that have to be kept 🙂

    Can’t help reading the conversation with Victoria…need to make the beginning interesting. If you yourself are saying that the actual beginning isn’t so interesting then that’s not a good sign. Maybe you just haven’t yet found the right place to start – that can be quite a challenge.

    • I’m loving the community already! 😀 Yes, the last sentence definitely needed lots and lots of consideration… It might change by the end of the book, of course! 😉

      Yes, my conversation with Victoria was definitely long and intense. 😀 As I said to her, this part is sort of a prologue-type thing, though I wouldn’t call it that (I actually don’t know what it’s called, I found it in a book I read a while back and liked the concept).

      I often start before the book needs to start, just to get the feel of the characters, and then I cut down and rewrite later, once I’ve got their voice (I just recently discovered this tactic; it turns out it’s really useful to be editing another book at the same time as you’re writing a different one!) 😛

      Thanks for the comment and the advice!
      – Sabrina

  4. Pingback: Character Blog Hop | Coffee. Write. Repeat.·

    • Thank you! I know 🙂 I sometimes think I enjoy killing characters off!

      I’m glad you found it worthwhile to stop by the good ol’ blog! And I’m excited for Monday, too. I can’t tell you who I’m tagging in the hop, but they’re both awesome writers! 😉

      – Sabrina

    • I’m glad! It’s never crossed any of my readers’s mind as to what Melody is… but I guess since its realistic fiction they think it’s pretty straightforward 😉

  5. oohhh this makes me wanna join the WeWriWa. haha 🙂
    Your first 8 were very interesting. Really made me wonder about her life, and what it has to do with the MC.

    • It’s fun, but I understand everyone doesn’t want to share their writing online 🙂
      Thanks! There should be more on the characters of Dear Melody later. I can’t wait for this Sunday 😀 Though I can’t decide which manuscript I want to share my 8 from…
      Thanks for the comment, Karla! 😀

  6. You definitely know how to write a catchy intro! It raises more questions then it answers, which is good in the beginning. I read some of your responses. If you are having trouble making the beginning interesting, perhaps come back to it in a few weeks. Sometimes new ideas come after you’ve had some time to think and reflect. Looking forward to your next snippet 🙂

    • Thanks! That’s the effect I was hoping for.
      I’m hoping that once I finish the rest of the novel, the beginning will come easier. 🙂
      Thanks for the comment! 😀

      – Sabrina

  7. Pingback: WeWriWa | Dear Melody Excerpt 2 | Books and Bark·

  8. Pingback: 2014 In Review | Books and Bark·

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

