WeWriWa | Dear Melody Excerpt 2

Well, I loved WeWriWa so much, I’m doing it again! This week’s eight-sentence snippet is another piece from Dear MelodyEnjoy! 😀

I guess, for a long time, you’ve been giving me advice, and that’s not how it’s supposed to work.

So here’s something I learned from you: it looks bad, Melody, and it will get worse. And then it will get better, and then worse again–but that’s life.

And I can promise you one thing: your life will be as radiant as the sun; it will be just as beautiful as Will says you were. I love who you were, and so does he.

Your life will be so wonderful, you won’t even be able to imagine it.

I love you, and so does Will. Remember that.

Blog Post and Novel Excerpt © Sabrina Wolfheart & the Books and Bark blog

________________________________________________________________

First of all, thank you for all your support, guys! It’s barely been a week, and the comments have just kept flowing in! They were all so supportive, and they have been motivating me throughout the week. So, thanks for reading, guys! ❤

This scene is from the point of view of one of the main characters, Mel (she’s a different character from Melody, but there’s a reason for the very confusing name, I promise!). I’m hoping to feature her in the character blog hop that I’m doing, which should be up sometime next week.

I had to edit it a bit to keep it in the 8-sentence limit, but I guess it turned out okay. 🙂 I’m very sorry if it’s a bit cliche or cheesy. I tend to write that way. But as my friend says, “People call me cheesy, but what can I say? I like cheese.” Also, please kindly ignore the fact that I basically told rather than showed this entire time. I’ll save that to wreck myself over during editing.

So I’m quite excited to share this with you guys, even though it is kind of a step down from my last piece (I personally liked that one better).

Oh, and here come the butterflies… Well, here goes nothing.

Happy 8Sunday,

3A8DB1E7BA0250AE3943BB53945DC23F

 

 

Blog Post and Novel Excerpt © Sabrina Wolfheart & the Books and Bark blog

16 responses to “WeWriWa | Dear Melody Excerpt 2

  1. Talk about bittersweet. . . This reminds me, a few days ago I was looking through my high school yearbook, and I thought about writing a letter to my 15-year-old self. But I was debating whether I should tell my 15-year-old self about the health struggles I would face as an adult, even though there was nothing I could have done to prevent it. I’m still undecided so I haven’t written it XD

    The line about life being a series of hills and valleys is so true, unfortunately. But without sorrow one can’t really know happiness I suppose.

    I love the line about her life being radiant as the sun. It evokes an image of a bright aura around her both in a physical and metaphorical sense. I had to think about the fact that the speaker is saying, “I love who you were,” not, “I love who you are.” This makes me think Melody turned out not so great because the speaker loved the person she was, not the person she is. *thinks harder* But she is telling her that her life will be so wonderful, so maybe Melody is just not a good person right now but she was in the past, and she will be in the future? Or maybe the speaker is writing the letter to Melody as if she was alive, but she’s dead (thus she was a good person) and the thing about her life being great is a reference to her being reincarnated. Hmm, or maybe I’m confused XD

    Given the excerpt from last week, I’m definitely curious about who the speaker is and her relation to Melody. I’m thinking Melody is reincarnated and born again. You definitely have given me some things to think about. Looking forward to a continuation of this!

    • Glad you liked it! Technically, you will never see what you write now, so if it makes you feel better, I think you should 🙂

      The line about her radiance is my favourite as well 😀 Wow, your analysis is really intense… Thanks for doing all that work for me 🙂

      I like your speculations… Melody and Mel’s relationship is yet to be revealed, so I can’t tell you anything 😀

      – Sabrina

  2. I would be wary of telling–but it also depends on how you use it, and the style of the book. Some protagonists kind of have an inner narration going on, so it can work. I hate that these are such short snippets, because I just want to know more! Very interested to see where you’re going with this. Look forward to next week 🙂

    • Definitely… This whole story is sort of narration, so I guess you never get to sort of experience how the character interact, so I guess I have to be careful about how to tell rather than show, if that makes any sense.
      Thanks! I can’t wait to see where this goes either! 😛

      – Sabrina

  3. Yes, you have the curiosity raging…I am really dying to know about who you were vs. who you are…gah. I’ll have to practice patience, I hate that!

    • I’m glad you’re interested 🙂 Mel and Melody are two different people, so take that into account, too…

      I’m really enjoying watching everyone speculate. I’m glad I can keep my readers on their toes, though! 😀

  4. I’m definitely intrigued. I wonder about the shift in tense, but I’m sure it’s intentional–which certainly adds to my curiosity about the story. I wouldn’t worry so much about telling. There’s a time for it and time not. This, to me, looks like a time for it. If you work to show this rather than to tell, it might just come off as contrived or as purple prose.

    Sometimes telling is absolutely necessary to move a plot forward.

    Good 8! I missed your post last week–so I’ll say, “Welcome to wewriwa!” now. We’re glad to have you. 🙂

    • The weird shifts in tense are definitely intentional 😉

      Thanks! Sometimes, you just need a second opinion on these kinds of things… I couldn’t figure out a way of showing it so I told it!

      Thanks! It’s so nice to meet you 🙂

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

