Why Writing is Like Watering Your Plants

One of the reasons I love writing so much is because it is so diverse. There are millions of stories out there, little ideas, growing out of author’s minds through the little watering pails they call their pens. The pails are so diverse–each writer’s little watering pail is so different from the next writer’s. And therefore, each of their writing processes is different…

My writing process is very organic–I don’t outline, I don’t plan, and I don’t sit around for days analyzing my characters and getting to know them. I just write.

All of a sudden, an idea will just pop into my head. It might be a smell, a person, an object, or an action. Something happens, and it just gets connected, all of a sudden in my brain, and this whole, wonderful society is created. Often, it comes complete with characters. It usually takes me a while to figure out their names–I run through many of them, discarding most, and then narrow it down to the name that was always their name–it just took me a while to figure it out.

And then I write. The characters have just always been there, living their lives, their stories, just yearning to be written in fresh black ink on crisp white sheets of paper (too much?). I will know everything they will do, their responses. I spend time with them, trying to get to know them, and I often start their story too early. I learn how to write their prose, and their life just unfolds in front of me, like something that happens every day. Their life is just as real as yours or mine. Their story is true.

I have heard many writers say that they write in a sort of lucid state, with events just unfolding in front of them, them watching and their fingers clacking away at the keyboard of their own accord. But for me the story just comes, and when it’s time to write, the words will come.

I have never been one of those people who carry a notebook with them and write down the ideas they get in there. I have tried, believe me, but the writing just never works.

Most of the writing process, for me, takes place during editing. The time that’s awful and boring and you have to push hard to get through, but is also so magical and rewarding and amazing. Editing is when I plan everything out. Editing is when I fix the broken plot points. Editing is when I make my characters’ voices more loveable. Editing is when I clear away the clutter and the story gets told.

Writing is just getting words on paper (lovely, lovely words, all in different fonts). Editing is crafting those words into something beautiful.

Writer

Find your watering pail. I promise, it will be magnificent. ❤

Spreading the writerly love,

3A8DB1E7BA0250AE3943BB53945DC23F

 

 

*I apologize for bad quality and incoherent sentences. I have no excuse. Writer’s block?

________________________________________________________________

So this post was actually written as part of the “My Writing Process” blog hop. I didn’t want it to just be a formulaic, boring way of explaining to you how I write… I wanted to be a writer, and show you how.

I was tagged in this blog hop by Heather McCubbin, who is an absolutely amazing writer, with a wonderful blog. You should go check her out… but not before I introduce who I’ve tagged. 😀 These two amazing writers… well, let me just say, I tagged them out of complete selfishness. They are such talented writers, and maybe by knowing how they write, I can be half the writer they are (correct grammar? I think not). Next week, they’ll be doing this blog hop on their own blogs… I can’t wait to see who they tag!

Victoria Davenport

Victoria Davenportunnamed is a 19-year-old student, artist, and writer. She has been telling stories since before she knew how to write, and can’t imagine life without it. A few months ago she decided to start seeking publication for the first time. She lives with postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome and an immune deficiency that have significantly impacted her life, but she is determined not to let her health stop her. She is currently writing a fantasy manuscript, which you can find snippets of on her blog, but has written across many genres in the past. She has written one novel, Ember, with which she is currently querying. She drinks (at least) two cups of coffee a day and loves all things weird, nerdy, and creative. Preferably she would live in her hometown of Seattle, Washington, or as an elf on Middle Earth.

Jeana Chapman

unnamedJeana Chapman is fourteen and from Minnesota. She has a dog named Lilah, and her sisters have a bunny named Bun-bun and and cockatiel named Skittles, respectively. She enjoys reading, writing, perusing social media, sitting on her bum all day long, shopping, and iced coffee. She is almost finished with her first novel, titled Breaking Silence, and has many other WIPs. She enjoys reading books such as Percy Jackson, Harry Potter, Sarah Dessen’s novels, and Cassie Mae’s novels. She primarily writes teen fiction and YA romance.

8 responses to “Why Writing is Like Watering Your Plants

  1. Love this 🙂 Great answers…I too love (for some reason) the editing phase, and think it should get more credit. That’s where the beautiful stories are really made. Thanks for tagging me, I’ll try to have mine up soon!

    • Thanks! Editing is strangely loveable… I know I go on and on about the horrors of it, but honestly, it isn’t THAT bad. I’m looking forward to seeing yours! 😀

  2. I have a similar writing process, lol. I know the beginning and ending, and then I just write as it comes. Yep. It helps to have an ending so you know where the story is going. Editing is my favorite part XD I love playing with words to create a certain feeling, and/or picture. That’s the most rewarding part about writing to me. I don’t write out an idea as soon as it comes to me, but if I have a certain metaphor that comes, I have to write it down or I may forget. It’s not that I forget the metaphor, but the exact wording, and every word is so important. I have an iphone and I just compose a message to myself and send it.

    To be honest, I’m trying to be a bit more organized in my writing process because my pacing is way off. It’s something you can fix with editing though. But why write a huge chunk of story you will never use? And I write very slow, so it’s an issue for me.

    And I know what it feels like to have the characters run away with your story. I guess that is part of why it’s so difficult for me to plan. Once I start writing my characters may decide to do something different, and my characters always win XD Although sometimes my characters don’t speak to me at all, and writing becomes so difficult. I mean it’s not anything I can control. I tend to inflict a lot of emotional anguish on my characters because I love angst, and I have joked with friends that my characters get mad at me for it, and then they won’t talk to me for a while, lol.

    I don’t know Jeana, but Victoria is a lovely writer 🙂 I’m looking forward to her novel, Nightfire. I’ll check out Jeana’s page.

    • Yeah, the middle is definitely the hardest part. I love it when you read something you wrote, and you can see what you envisioned folding out in front of you… but not because you envisioned it because of the words you wrote on the page.

      Yes the exact wording is very important. Once I wrote a page-long short story… and then Word crashed on me and my auto recovery file was blank (my computer had… problems. I then got a new one).

      Pacing, for me, is harder without an outline, but the writing comes out much better.

      I write fast, but I still dread it when I have to throw away a scene… 😦

      Honestly, when they don’t talk to me, it’s probably because of their character. I had a character in my past novel, The CyberWorld who was constantly shutting me out… but that was just her, that’s how she came across on the page. I give too many of my characters sad backstories (Mel, Bella, Sam… the list goes on. There are just too many of them!) I mean, I mess up their lives and then I just turn up on their doorstep like, “Hello, I’m a writer and I’m here to write down your life story. Please recount all the hard parts to me. Kay thanks.” 😛 Honestly, I’d slam the door in my own face if I did that to myself (weird, but true… it makes sense if you think about it, okay :D). So by my standard, my characters really are very patient.

      Victoria is a lovely writer. 🙂 I stumbled across Jeana’s blog by chance, and I read part of her novel… her imagery is just stunning, and the feelings come off the page… And then she told me the part I read was the sucky part. She’s a new blogger, but she’s amazing at what she does 😀

      Glad you liked the post! 😀

      – Sabrina

  3. I knew we would click. Sounds very much like my process of writing. And when you mentioned the naming of your characters, I thought maybe you saw into my head for a bit. It was scary. 🙂
    The name has to be just right and it can take a long time to get there! I remember Stephenie Meyer saying that she named Bella after Isabella, which would have been her daughter’s name if she ever had one. However, I can not name any of my main characters after people in my family. It just brings their faces to my mind and I can’t write them into the story in a way that works!

    • Lovely! I have a lot of writer friends who are just OUTLINE STRAIGHT AHEAD, and I never get them… For me writing is just kind of a go-with-the-flow thing.

      And when it comes to characters, they have one given name, for the rest of their lives, unless they go by a nickname, or in some cases, get married. No changes of name. EVER. Unless it conforms with their character or has some sort of plot significance. As for seeing into my head… well. That is scary.

      Well, I guess at the time, Stephenie Meyer didn’t have a daughter, so she had a clean slate for Bella (I personally never got around to reading the Twilight series, or the Host… I’ve heard lots of good things about them, though.)

      I have never named a character after a person in my family. It just doesn’t fit. I’ve actually made up characters in a character’s family and had a character name their son/daughter after a person in their family (confusing, huh?).

      Names are my favorite part, actually. It’s very fun trying to guess their names… sort of like name-game hide-and-seek. 😀

      I’m so glad I met you! It’s wonderful to finally meet another writer who feels the same way about writing. 😀

      – Sabrina

  4. This is such a beautiful blog post- beautiful words, beautiful thoughts, beautiful ideas. We have a lot of similarities in our writing processes so I could relate to many of your points- although sometimes the words don’t flow as well as yours seem to;)

    I’ll have my blog post up within the next week or so- until then!

    • Aww, thank you! 😀

      Really? I’m in awe of you. I mean, your novel is just… Amazing. And it’s without editing, too! O.O

      I can’t wait to read your post! 🙂

      – Sabrina

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

