What’s Up Wednesday | Week 4

AlienStarsWow, four weeks already? I have to admit, I love this! It’s incredibly fun to do, and I love the four categories. So without further ado… here we go off again πŸ˜€

What I’m Reading

Mountaintop-CoverA few days ago, I was very, very, very excited to see The Mountaintop School for Dogs and Other Second Chances appear in my mailbox. I mean, I’ve gotten ARCs and review copies before, but still, a girl can be excited, can’t she? I mean, Ellen Cooney actually asked me to review her book. And the ARC came with a note from her publicist: “Thanks for reading and reviewing–enjoy.”

So far, from what I’ve read, the book is fantastic. It centers on Evie, who went to college and passed, but still managed to mess up her life with drugs. Now, she’s looking for a brand-new life, so she signs herself up to train at the Sanctuary. Well, I can’t really say any more, but here’s the back-cover blurb from Amazon: “A novel of a young woman who, despite knowing nothing about animals, signs herself up for dog training school at The Sanctuary, where she discovers that rescue can find even the most hopeless among us and that friends come in all shapes, sizes, and breeds.

When it comes out on August 5th, you should all go read it!

I’m also working on reviewing The Secret Life of Dog Catchers–and I’m hoping to catch author Shirley Zindler for an interview!

What I’m Writing

Well, I finally started re-writing The CyberWorld. I’ve decided to put Dear Melody aside until the end of August (or at least until my revisions are over). I’ve lowered my word-count goal for Camp NaNoWriMo to 15,000 words, because it’s really just revisions now.

I also want to let myself explore. I have to admit, I fell in love with Evie, the protagonist of The Mountaintop School for Dogs, and I love her style of narrating. She’s just so funny sometimes! πŸ˜€ I want to start something new–I mean, I still want to finish Dear Melody–but I just love exploring. And, frankly, I miss writing science fiction. Sometimes, I want to just write vignettes from Bellatris (villain in The CyberWorld)‘s view because I just understand her and can write her like she’s myself, or better.

Okay. So I admit it. Maybe the purpose of this entire section is to tell you that I miss The CyberWorld and all of its characters. And I want to revisit that world. Now. Am I clear? Good. Okay, now don’t tell any of my characters I said anything.

What Inspires Me Right Now

Currently, not a lot. I miss my writing, just on a daily basis, but I’ve been busy. I had three blog posts planned for this week, none of which really worked out, because I didn’t get the time to write them. I love my books (the ones I’m reading!), and I love, love, love Evie. I don’t exactly know why, but I just get her, sort of. I haven’t done drugs or any of the bad stuff she’s trying to put behind her. But I haven’t… oh wait. Sorry.

spoilerstoo

I keep forgetting I’m not supposed to tell you anything πŸ˜€

And on to the next section it is.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Well, my internship has been going well. I’ve started a blog for it, which is absolutely chock-full of geeky, science-y things I would not like you to know about. Because they are too geeky and science-y for you to stay awake during, while they only make my blood pump faster.

I’ve also been wondering about my blog. I know it’s become a bit… bland. Just Weekend Writing Warriors and What’s Up Wednesday. I mean, it used to be so interesting. And although my stats are good, I just don’t… feel good about my blog. I mean, I think I just need some book reviews, something which is actually not this. What I need is more hours in a day. But… that’s not going to happen.

In a few weeks (July 27th) we’ll be setting off on a family trip–but this time with no wi-fi. 😦 Which means that I will schedule my posts, but I won’t be online for a week. But until then, I will be very extremely active… I hope. I know I kind of popped off the radar yesterday (if anyone even noticed), but I needed a blog-free day, for once. Also, I transcribed over 10,000 words, and my hands were killing me.

Now, I have to go watch Doctor Who’s 50th Anniversary Special, so if you’d excuse me…

On a side note, I think I’m getting carpel tunnel.

Have a great week!

3A8DB1E7BA0250AE3943BB53945DC23F

22 responses to “What’s Up Wednesday | Week 4

  1. No wifi!?!?! Be strong!

    I definitely know what you mean about wanting to revisit worlds and characters. Enjoy the return journey with the. πŸ˜‰

    • I’ll try… Thank you for your good wishes. Not having wifi is scary. :/

      Thanks πŸ˜€ It’s always really fun to revisit their worlds. Sometimes, it feels like I climbed up the mountain with them, but then I just didn’t take the effort to climb back down. πŸ™‚

  2. Sounds like you need to step back and think about why you’re blogging. Is it just a place to write, or are you trying to share information, or what? I’ve read a lot of blog advice that says the most successful blogs are the ones that are focused and know their audience. I have also read advice that says writer blogs should be about anything other than writing. And others say you should write what you love to talk about… which may be writing! All that to say, it’s your blog. You do with it as you see fit. But the time away from wi-fi may be a good opportunity for you to think about why you blog and what you want to do with your blog.

    Have a wonderful week with your characters, Sabrina! And Doctor Who. πŸ™‚

    • Yes… I love talking about writing, and I think it’s a writer’s job to talk about writing, and no one else’s. I think the time away from wi-fi will help me think… there’s also the aspect of school starting (I am a teenager, after all πŸ˜› ), so I have to think about what really matters as my time to blog goes down.

      Thanks! Same goes for you πŸ˜€

    • Yes. It was lovely being “unplugged” for a day (mind you, I was still pretty active via text message… and I did read all of my lovely readers’ comments!). And choosing it would be lovely–I have had far too many days when I really wanted to blog… and I had an avalanche of things to do and no time.
      Thanks for the wonderful comment and insight πŸ˜€

  3. I’d love to hear more about CyberWorld! Sometimes it’s good to switch projects. It doesn’t mean you aren’t going to finish the other, but it can be a nice break to refresh and recharge. I love writing from villain POV! It can be so fun πŸ™‚ Haha! But seriously, write about the characters and story you really love. That’s the story worth writing. πŸ™‚ Have a great week!

    • Yep, I honestly love that manuscript, and half the time I don’t know why in the world I still do. Because it’s an ugly manuscript. But I guess I created a world and fell in love with my characters along the way.
      Villains think so differently. I sometimes think they characterize the story more than the main character does. Bellatris is so three-dimensional compared to Breeze, my MC.
      Writing the story you love can make all the difference. ❀
      Enjoy your week, too!

  4. Sometimes I feel like my blog doesn’t have a strong direction. It’s just kind of a random collection of my thoughts. But I enjoy it so I guess that is what matters the most. I have a really hard time defining myself with one thing :/

    I was a chemistry major in undergrad, and I have a doctorate in a healthcare profession, so I doubt it would be too science oriented for me XD. I also spent last year reading like 30 research articles on hip dysplasia, hip impingement, capsule plication, hip version problems, etc. I’m used to cruising Pubmed and reading research articles. Unfortunately, I’m not associated with a university anymore so many of them aren’t free 😦 Glad your internship is going well. I saw you are at Stanford? I actually live in Northern California and one of my doctors is at Stanford πŸ˜„ Small world πŸ™‚

    I think you should write whatever you feel inspired to write at the moment. I spent five years writing a fantasy story and now I’m writing non-fantasy XD. I went through a huge sci-fi phase in my teens, and even now I love sci-fi and shows like the Twilight Zone.

    I think you’re an awesome person so I’ll follow you kind of regardless of what you’re doing or talking about ^^

    • Yeah, I think my blog was like that at first, and then the writing aspect really picked up. I think enjoying writing it is really important, so keep doing what you love!

      I want to be a veterinarian, so I’ll probably be scrolling through some of the same stuff. πŸ˜› Yep, my internship is at Stanford, but that doesn’t mean I live near it. πŸ™‚ (Not anything personal, but I prefer to keep my location anonymous online).

      Yeah, I guess I’m coming to the realization of that. Years ago, when I started The CyberWorld, I actually had another project I loved to death, but forced myself to write this one. Little did I know how much I would love it. πŸ˜› Sci-fi is the bane of my existence, essentially. In my family, if you don’t love sci-fi, we’re not related. πŸ˜›

      Aw, thank you! You deserve a ton of hugs for that. It means a lot. πŸ˜€ But they don’t have a hug icon so I’m just going to send you tiny hearts instead. ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀

      • My whole family is into sci-fi too πŸ˜„ My mom is a Trekkie and my dad was really into Star Wars. I think I’m more into science-fiction and fantasy than my sister is. She’s getting her PhD in theoretical physics at Harvard. So yeah, science is kind of in our blood πŸ˜„ I’m much better at life-sciences than physical sciences though. My sister is the opposite. And I am the least technologically proficient of my whole family as well. My husband makes fun of me for that all the time XD. But I’m the only one in my family that enjoys writing and poetic prose. My mom finds it superfluous πŸ˜„ My mom and sister are so amazing at math.

        That’s cool that you want to be a veterinarian πŸ˜€ I am probably going to be looking for a job soon, and I’m excited since I went to college for so long to be in this profession.

        Ah, okay I didn’t realize Stanford had internships outside of California. It’s good to keep most things private. That’s why I haven’t mentioned my specific job or post-grad education because it would identify me. Undergrad is much less specific, so I feel okay mentioning that. But yeah, I know what you mean about the privacy issue. My name on Facebook is not my legal name, lol. And I haven’t told anyone about my blog unless they are a very close friend.

        *Hugs you back*

        • Oh, wow, Harvard! You all sound very smart πŸ™‚ I prefer life sciences or technology, because they’re just so fun… I mean, I like the blogging aspect of technology, which isn’t very technological πŸ˜› My mom is a fantastic writer, so she understands me, but she wrote more realistic fiction and less sci-fi.

          Ah, yes! The fruits of your efforts πŸ˜› Have fun and good luck finding a job πŸ˜€

          Yeah, their internships are open to anywhere in the United States. Privacy is good. I like having a community, but several school classes have taught me to beware of cyberstalkers and things (not that I’m accusing you of being one, but this is a public thread…). Yeah, I’m one of the only one of my friends who blogs. I have several writer friends, but they prefer to remain offline.

          Aw, thanks for the hug back! ❀

          • No worries, I know what you meant πŸ™‚ One of my best friends is extremely private so I only refer to her as Friend A, which has nothing to do with her name. Was just starting at the beginning of the alphabet. If I have another friend come up in a blog post I’ll refer to her as Friend B, lol. That’s good they teach you about cyberstalking. Ten years ago it wasn’t as big of a deal. I’m trying not to connect this account to my fanfic one because if one of them is smart enough they could really do some damage. *sigh* I wouldn’t put anything past them at this point even though I abandoned my account.

            My hubby jokingly told me he’s ready for me to be his sugar mommy πŸ˜„ My starting salary will be twice his. He was kind of upset about it when we first got married (he’s Japanese) but now he realizes more money is a good thing regardless of who earns it πŸ™‚

            I actually proof-read my sisters writing in college for her. She abused that poor thesaurus πŸ˜„ Nothing wrong with using a thesaurus but each word has a certain feeling and connotation to it so you can’t just throw words in there unless you are familiar with it. She’s very smart but she’s not as good at creative writing. Thats nice to have other writers in the family πŸ™‚ No one in my family has much interest in reading anything I write, but that’s okay. I don’t want to force anyone to read my writing :$. Well when I started five years ago I did πŸ˜„ But I don’t anymore. Some of my friends read my stories because they are writers too. Friend A is a very good writer so she helps me a lot. I’m so lucky to have her :$ She writes fanfic. I tried to get her to write original stories but she just doesn’t feel inspired to. Maybe she will in time!

            • Yep, I used to be like that. The fact that I’m a teen is the most personal fact I have ever revealed on my blog! It really does suck that you’ve been cyberstalked. I mean, do they really have nothing better to do? I can assure you they’re much worse writers than you, and they’re just jealous.

              I used to use a thesaurus when I was younger, but that was just because I didn’t know a lot of words. I get what you mean about the right “feel” to it… even when I look up words, they have to sound right!

              On the other hand, I guess it’s nice to be the specially talented one in the family! πŸ˜› Yeah, a lot of my friends started with fan fiction, and they’re just now transitioning out of it. They’re growing into great writers and poets!

  5. Hey there! I know what you mean about those two events coming to define my blog. Personally, I’m not too worried. This is what I can fit into my schedule for now, and I’m sure I’ll be blogging about other stuff soon. (looks around shiftily.) Right? πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, my problem is that I’m a busy person, and some weeks it’s just WUW and WWW alternating… but then again, I do get time to write sometimes, and I’m just to lazy. So at least they’re keeping my blog running! πŸ˜›

  6. No wifi seems to be the most terrible thing that can happen to anyone in today’s society. First thing I always check at a hotel is wifi >.< My words of wisdom here are: forget about the internet and enjoy your vacation. We'll all still be here when you get back, I promise! Or, if that makes you feel antsy, write posts and schedule them to post by themselves ahead of time.

    In other news, that book looks very interesting! I remember reading a book about a mountaintop school that reminds me of it, but I can't remember what the title was for the life of me… There's as a dog in it too, but that's all I've got. I will most definitely be reading this book when it comes out πŸ™‚

    • Oh! I’m so sorry! I thought I replied to this comment when, in fact, I did not. Wi-fi loss is scary. Luckily, one of my friends will be there. We can suffer together. Aw, thanks πŸ™‚ I want to keep up my blog anyways, because my (other) hobby is worrying πŸ˜›

      It’s quite good. I love Evie–she can be really sassy when she wants to be! You should… I think it’s worth every penny! Personally, I think Evie is an amazing character and narrator. Decide for yourself when it comes out, though πŸ˜€

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

