What’s Up Wednesday | Week Whatever-We’ve-Gotten-To

Robot60% Well, here we go. Whatever week we’ve gotten to–I’m too lazy to count!

What I’m Reading

This week, I finished up The Mountaintop School for Dogs and Other Second Chances by Ellen Cooney. It’s out August 5th, so be ready! My review for that should be up sometime this week (fingers crossed!). I also posted my book review for The Secret Life of Dog Catchers by Shirley Zindler, and had the pleasure of interviewing her. She’s a fantastic woman, and I’m so glad to have stumbled across her book! 😀

Currently, I’m reading Beowulf. As the summer draws to a close, my summer reading must get done. 🙂 I’ve planned out a crash-course reading of it, so I can finish it this week. On Sunday, our entire family is leaving for a trip–without wifi 😥 Ah, well. Lots of reading to be done. I’m planning on reading the Something Strange and Deadly Trilogy by Susan Dennard. I recently won a copy of her latest book, Strange and Ever After, and I’m hoping it’ll come in before we leave! I also have to read Grendel, which is sort of a companion book to Beowulf, for school, so I’m probably going to do that on the trip, too.

What I’m Writing

Well, I’ve actually not been writing a lot (again!). I’ve been steadily working on those CyberWorld rewrites, though! Dear Melody is still on hold, so we’ll see when that picks up again.

I’ve planned to finish all of my rewrite on the cruise–hopefully there won’t be that much to actually rewrite. 😛

What Inspires Me Right Now

Well, I’ve been listening to a lot of podcasts for my summer internship, and they’ve actually given me a lot of great ideas! I’ve also been learning about a lot of the science I really should have already educated myself on for my sci-fi novel.

Other than that, my cabin mates over at Camp NaNoWriMo have been amazing, as usual.

But I think the biggest motivator of all is the world itself. The world–yes the world, not just the characters–is really starting to develop a feel of its own, and resolving plot problems is actually fun and creative work!

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Not much, actually. I’ve been taking some summer classes so I can get ahead in school, so I have finals coming up. Also, we’re limited on items for our trip, and that means I can only take my Kindle to read on (and hopefully Strange and Ever After), so I’ve been racing against the clock to finish Beowulf. I’m doing 60 pages per day, plus annotations and analysis, which is pretty tiring.

I think I’m getting carpel tunnel. In addition to typing up transcripts all day, I come home to more blogging and writing. So my arm hurts. And I can’t type a whole lot.

Speaking of which, my shoulder is hurting right now. Which is probably why this post feels really rushed. Sorry 😦

Well, I know this has been a rather fast post, but good night (in my case), and have a great week, everybody!

3A8DB1E7BA0250AE3943BB53945DC23F

22 responses to “What’s Up Wednesday | Week Whatever-We’ve-Gotten-To

  1. Careful with carpel tunnel – rest your arm, talk to your supervisor and take it easy. If it gets worse carpel tunnel can be a ‘pain’ for the rest of your life! Pun intended 🙂

    • Oh, yes, I most certainly do! I made a list of things that I could do while not having an arm to use and it amounted to:
      1. Watch TV
      2. Read if I can figure out how to hold the book and turn the page, and also snack
      Thanks! 😀

  2. I’m pretty sure I have carpel tunnel too. Just make sure to relax – my piano teacher makes me do this exercise where you pick your arm up and drop it and try to make it as lifeless/boneless as possible. Once you feel no resistance it means you’ve relaxed completely 🙂

    I really can’t wait to read that book now. Looking forward to reading your review as well!

    • Oh, that’s a cool exercise! I’ll definitely try it out… I can’t take a break from writing, that’s for sure!

      Yeah, there were certain aspects (as there always are!) that I didn’t exactly like… I’m hoping to have the review out tomorrow or the day after, so maybe that will be some supplemental material for you while waiting for August 5th! 😀

  3. I never had to read Beawolf, and I’m thankful 😄 I don’t like old English or Shakespeare. Nope, don’t like it. I’ve been dealing with rotator cuff tendinitis for about a year and a half now. Hopefully yours only lasts a few weeks. Because of EDS, I take 3-4 times as long to heal from any soft tissue injury/damage. It’s much better but it was really bad even a year ago. I would ice it to help take down the inflammation, but never put it directly on the skin or you can burn yourself. 1 part of rubbing alcohol to 3 parts of water makes slushy ice that molds to your shoulder. I use Voltaren gel as well, which is a prescription. It’s like ibuprofen or naproxen, but the risk of stomach ulcers (I’ve had two) is much less because it’s applied topically and only has 10% absorption. Also, my phone has a microphone function. I use that sometimes if it’s really bad. If it doesn’t get better in a few weeks I would see a doctor.

    • Beowulf isn’t that bad, it’s just that Beowulf seems to be perfect. The copy we have to read for school is translated from Old English, since none of us can read it, so it’s not so bad. I actually like Shakespeare (his favorite play of mine was Macbeth).

      Oh, that sounds awful 😦 I will definitely try to ice it/etc. I’ve been trying not to type as much (like that’s going to work 😛 ), so hopefully it’ll get better.

      Hm, I should check that. I want to get one of those Speech-to-Text apps, but I have an iPhone and I’ve only seen them for android.

      Thanks for all the advice!

      • I have an iPhone too. I have WordPress on my phone as an app, so next to the space bar there’s a little microphone key. Not sure if it would be the same on yours? It does pretty good with text as long as it’s not a name. It butchers most names >_>

        • No, I don’t have the little microphone key 😦 Though that might be due to me not getting the most recent iOS and app updates. I don’t like the neon colors of the new iOS, so I have been putting off getting it for a while now. The WordPress app update requires the new iOS, so therefore, no little microphone for me… 😦 Oh well. I prefer looking at the words anyways 😀 I love the look of them. 🙂

  4. Arghhh, podcasts are the BEST, seriously. I have a whole bunch of novel writing ones stocked up for long journeys, and you’ve just made me want to binge on them! 😀

    I just started Something Strange & Deadly, and am loving it so far! Hopefully you enjoy the series too 🙂 Have a wonderful week!

    • The podcasts I’m listening to are actually science-y ones about global warming and what’s going to happen to the Earth… But it’s really good research, since my novel is set in the future 🙂

      I’m hoping the book will come in before we leave! I’m glad you’re enjoying them, I can’t wait to start! 😀

  5. I’m so sorry about the injuries, I hope you feel better later on. It sounds like you’re extremely busy! Good thing you’ve got that trip coming up which should be fun, right?

    I’ve never read Beowulf (I saw the movie…) how is it?

    • Yep, just carpel tunnel 🙂 I’ve been trying to relax my arm a bit, so it’s feeling better now 😀 And the fact that I don’t have to transcribe anything for the next week is also helping.

      We’re all very excited for our trip! I heard where we’re going, they have a huge library–hermit Sabrina is happy!

      I’ve heard good things about the Beowulf movie, but I think he’s just too perfect in the book. I mean, come on? Defeating a monster with your bare hands? Other than that it’s okay, sometimes all the names are a bit confusing (they’re all old Danish/Swedish/Geat or something).

      • In the movie they made it seem like he was a big fibber lol! I guess he had to make himself look good.

        Anyway, have fun at that library 🙂

        • Oh, in the book, he boasts before and after each battle. And then he’s challenged by a guy and he’s just like, “Well, to correct your story, I killed the monster with my bare hands. Behold my awesome power.” (Honestly, he says “my awesome strength.”)

          Thanks! Although I will miss all of you! 🙂

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

