Reading Round-Up

Well, I am a horrible procrastinator, so instead of writing my review for The Mountaintop School for Dogs and Other Second Chances, I decided to go through and make a list of all the books I read this week, am currently reading, and am planning on reading next week. I’m going on a trip without wi-fi next week, so without Doctor Who, blogging, and the general presence of the Internet to distract me, I should have a lot of time to read. Although, I may just download GIFs and stare at them longingly, wishing for wi-fi. I’m going to stay positive, and say I’m definitely not looking forward to a week without Internet.

This Week, I Read…

the_mountaintop_school_ellen_cooney__smallauthor The Mountaintop School for Dogs and Other Second Chances

A fantastic book, full of dogs, dogs, and more dogs! And then you have Evie, the girl looking for a family of her own. My only complaint would be that the ending was left too open. I received an ARC copy of The Mountaintop School from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

My review, which was supposed to be up today or tomorrow, is being delayed to Monday next week. I’m going to include what I liked and disliked about all the characters, and, of course, have awesome GIFs! Also, I’ll be posting an interview with Ellen Cooney, the author, on August 5th, when the book releases.

sarahskeySarah’s Key

It is probably worth mentioning that I finished reading Sarah’s Key, which has been on my currently-reading list for a while now. I just couldn’t get myself through it, though that may be due to the fact that historical fiction isn’t my favorite type of novel. I’m not sure if I want to post a review of it, so I’m just going to point out the stuff worth noting here. The protagonist of the story, Julia Jarmond, seemed a bit too obsessed with her personal problems, instead of concentrating on the horrifying events of the Vel’ d’Hiv, the round-up of Jews by the French police.

Sarah’s fate was kind of disappointing, and the story after we find Sarah and her brother’s fate is kind of pointless. In the end, I felt that Sarah’s story was just told so that it could be a catalyst for Julia’s personal problems, which I didn’t like at all. Since the book is called Sarah’s Key, I expected it to be a lot more about Sarah. But that’s just my take on it. If you like historical fiction, then this might be the book for you.

Currently, I’m Reading…

beowulf-coverBeowulf

One of the very first epics ever written, about a man named Beowulf and how he defeated the monstrous Grendel, Grendel’s mother, and a dragon.

I’m about 30% of the way through with this book, and I plan to finish it next week. It’s sort of like The Odyssey. I couldn’t stand Odysseus, and Beowulf is turning out to be much of the same–he’s just too perfect for my taste. But this is just the beginning, so maybe he’ll improve. 🙂

I’ve heard that in the movie he’s just a big braggart, so I might watch that after we finish with it in class.

Next Week, I’ll Be Reading…

Something Strange and Deadly Trilogy

IMG_3277I won a copy of Strange and Ever After from Susan Dennard. I haven’t read the rest of the series, but now here’s an excuse to! I read an excerpt, and it seems to be very steampunk.

I must admit, I’m terrified of zombies, which feature greatly in the book, but I’m excited to read it anyways. 🙂 Eleanor’s voice seems to be very unique, a mix of modern and Victorian. Zombies in history? Well, I’ve never heard of that! Seems unique to me.

132747

The New World

One of my blogging buddies reviewed The New World on her blog, so I decided to give it a try. It’s a 25-page novelette prequel to the Chaos Walking Trilogy, and it’s completely free. Why not? I’m always looking for great books to read.

The basis is that Earth is gone, and has been gone for centuries. The humans are searching for a new planet to live on. A girl, Viola, and her family travel in search of a new world. But before them, there were others–going on the same mission, to the same planet. And not one of those people have come back.

grendel Grendel

Grendel is sort of a companion book to Beowulf, but written by a different author centuries later.

It tells the story of Grendel, the legendary monster whom Beowulf defeated–but from his perspective. While Beowulf is told in poem format, Grendel is written in the form of a novel. I’m kind of hoping it will explain exactly what sins he performed to be exiled from God and sent to Hell after he dies. 🙂

I’m looking forward to see how it differs from the original book. Plus, it’s my summer reading, so I have to read it, whether I like it or not. 😛

11043618 What’s Left of Me

I’ve been wanting to read this book for a long time, now. Not only was it written during NaNoWriMo, which I’m a big fan of, but it’s a young adult sci-fi, something which I don’t see very much of (like actual sci-fi).

Addie and Eva are two souls in the same body. One of them was supposed to go away, just disappear… but they haven’t. Even though Addie has control of their body, now, Eva is still there, a soul trapped in Addie’s mind. When Addie and Eva realize there are ways for Eva to gain control of the body again, they are willing to do anything–even if it will put them and their family in danger.

So now you have my TBR list for the next week… or few. 😛 Currently Beowulf and Grendel are top priority for me, since they’re for school. I’m planning to read the Something Strange and Deadly trilogy, Grendel, and The New World on my trip next week. I’m actually going to be going on another trip soon after that, but this time I’ll have wi-fi. 😀

3A8DB1E7BA0250AE3943BB53945DC23F

6 responses to “Reading Round-Up

  1. That’s a really interesting list of books you’ve got there! It’s refreshing to see someone who reads so many different genres, a lot of the people I know in real life generally stick to one or two.

    While I myself am not the biggest fan of sci-fi, ‘What’s Left of Me’ looks like it might be worth a try. The ‘Something Strange and Deadly’ trilogy might be something I’d like to look into (I love historical fiction), but after reading ‘The Forest of Hands and Teeth’ I may never pick up another zombie book again…

    I’ll miss you while you’re gone! Have a nice week without Internet and I’ll be eagerly awaiting your posts when you get back 🙂

    • Yeah, I like pretty much everything (nonfiction included, strangely). I don’t exactly know why people tend to stick to one genre or another. I love reading across genres, because there are so many new perspectives and ideas.

      Sci-fi is actually my favorite genre. If I had to choose a genre to read for the rest of my life, I think that would be it 😛 I’ve read excerpts, and Kat Zhang can certainly tell a story 🙂 I’m trying to figure out ways to obtain all these books, actually 😛 Zombie books certainly scare me–I’m okay with vampires and even werewolves, but strangely, not zombies.

      I will most definitely try! If you end up with a lot of comment and like spam, when I get back, that will be me. 🙂

  2. I was going to mention John Gardner’s Grendel XD I’m reading another book of his, October Light. But he’s most famous for Grendel I think. A friend of mine that wrote amazingly recommended October Light along with McCarthy’s The Road. Once I started with McCarthy I became obsessed :$ Then moved on to Faulkner and Atwood, and I’ve been cycling through those authors for 5 years now XD I’m the type of person who finds repetition comforting :$ I finally got around to reading October Light. I haven’t read Grendel. Gardner writes really well, and has a unique style. It took me a while to get into October Light, but now I’m enjoying it. My friend wrote a lot like Gardner and McCarthy blended together. After reading both of them I could really see it in her writing. She was more poetic than Gardner, but more verbose than McCarthy.

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

