It’s Not Thanksgiving, But Happy Birthday

anniversary-1x1Did you just say my blog is one?!?! 😀

This snuck up on me fast. Like, really fast. Today, I logged on to find a shiny, brand-new WordPress Anniversary Badge waiting for me. As of today, Books and Bark has been around for a year. I don’t know how that happened, but I definitely know it wouldn’t have been possible without you. Yes, YOU. The one who is reading this right now. YOU. Y-O-U.

Because every one of the people who followed me made such a difference in my blog’s path. Without the wonderful, delightful readers of this blog, I might not be here today. I may not have blogged consistently every month since August 4, 2013, but you were still there. You came back. So this post is for you. It’s Thanksgiving on Books and Bark… even though it’s not.

Originally, I didn’t want to write this post, because I thought nobody would read it, but this is Books and Bark‘s birthday. August 4th is the day it was born, and it deserves a post to celebrate. And my, oh, my, how far have I come in a year! I wanted to summarize it, so I created this. Maybe one day I can look back and remember, one day when I’m thinking of quitting, when I’m dying and my fingers are sputtering out, and the lights are flickering and the writer inside of me is taking her last breaths. Maybe I can look back and realize that it is all worth it. Always. ❤

5 Things I Love 😀

5
Nearly 1,000 Followers

When I started blogging a year ago, I told myself I wanted 50 followers. I shot over that goal nearly 200 times. It’s an amazing feeling to look back and this, and see what I’ve done. 😀 Sometimes, I log out and go and visit, and I just scroll and keep scrolling, letting my fingers fly over the trackpad. I look at everything, all the posts I’ve written, the community I’ve created, the people who care. And it makes me fall in love with blogging all over again. ❤

4

Writing

My love for Books and Bark is definitely not quantitative. I love writing blog posts for Books and Bark. I know the amazing community on WordPress will accept them for what they are–that this a place that I can come to express my emotions, to let people know. And they’ll agree with me. 🙂

3

The Support

The support I have gotten has been amazing. It’s fueled my writing and my passion, and made me even more sure that I want to do this. That this blog is worth writing. I’d especially like to thank my five top commenters, who’ve helped me through thick and thin, writing-wise, and always make the blogosphere a great place to be. To make me really happy, you’ll want to hop on over to their blogs, too. They are thepaperbutterfly from The Paper Butterfly, Victoria Davenport from Coffee. Write. Repeat., Desiree B from Inky Tavern, Spirited from [Pen to Paper], and Caffe Maggieato from Just Get It Written. (If I forgot you, please do let me know!) I can’t thank you enough. 😀 😀 😀 ❤ ❤ ❤

2Awards

Never in my life did I think that I would have been nominated for, not one, not two, but three awards the past year! 😀 I thank Caffe Maggieato for The Lighthouse Award, and D.R.Sylvester for the One Lovely Blog Award. I’d also like to thank Desiree B, D.R.Sylvester, Spirited, and Kate for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. They mean so much to me, and just looking over at that little sidebar means so much to me every day. ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ 

1ARCs? Did You Really Just Say ARCs?! ❤ 😀 ❤

Yes, I really just did say ARCs. I am so lucky to have received so many ARCs and review copies from authors and publishers this year. I’ve been offered five copies this year, and I appreciate every single request! So far, I’ve reviewed The Mountaintop School for Dogs and Other Second Chances (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) and The Secret Life of Dog Catchers (Shirley Zindler). Thank you, thank you, thank you! Nothing motivates me more than books. Except maybe dogs. I  like dogs (as you may have been able to tell). And a nice, long episode of Doctor Who. Doctor Who is always good. 😀

My Inspirations

Foster and Photograph will forever be my number one inspiration. Adri honestly deserves every award in the universe. 😀 It was her blog that inspired me to make my own. My blog’s name was even modeled after hers–Books and Bark, Foster and Photograph. 😀 InkOutLoud is my other favorite blog. While Adri brought in my dog-loving side, Mel invoked my internal writer-ness. These blogs were the first I followed, and the blogs that I most love today. Mel, Adri, you’ll always have a special place in my heart. ❤ In fact, I apparently have characters named after both of  you. But not after you. They just happen to have the same names. … It’s complicated. 😛

Presents!

My favorite part of any birthday is the presents. No, no one actually sent me anything, BUT I found my signed copy of Strange and Ever After in my mailbox yesterday, and I’m apparently getting two new ARC books. 😀 Susan is AMAZING and she even sent me a signed bookmark! Thanks, Susan, and happy (late) book birthday! 😀 (Psst! Go follow her @stdennard!)

So here you have an adorable picture of Bindi with Strange and Ever After. Blurriness due to swiftly begging dog.

So here you have an adorable picture of Bindi with Strange and Ever After. Blurriness due to swiftly begging dog.

Happy birthday, Books and Bark! You’ve made me proud ❤

(or, as they said on our cruise, Washy-washy Bloggy-bloggy, Happy-Happy, Smiley-smiley!) 😛

3A8DB1E7BA0250AE3943BB53945DC23F

20 responses to “It’s Not Thanksgiving, But Happy Birthday

  1. Awwww! Is Bindi your puppy? She’s so cute :3 You and several others have inspired me to write with your passion for writing. It’s a very positive thing to be surrounded by other like-minded individuals 😀 Congrats on the birthday! I hope the next year is even more awesome for you 🙂

    • Yep, she’s my little 5-year-old 😛 Yes, she loves hearing that. I told her and she stretched her head, and told me to give you this message, “Am I? I know.” 😛 She’s quite full of herself.
      You’re one of my inspirations, but I wanted to dedicate those slots to the people who made Books and Bark a possibility–and that’s Mel and Adri.

      Thanks for the birthday wishes! 😀

      • Oh, no worries XD I was honored that you even mentioned me ^-^ I was not offended at all :$ And I meant what I said. You inspired me with your passion for writing at such a young age. It doesn’t matter if you found me inspiring or not, lol. Awwwww, I love Bindi’s personality XD

        • You are very inspiring. Looking back, there are a few changes that need to be made to this list… Aww, thank you! ❤ Means a lot, really, it does 😀
          Ha ha… I just realized I said "five-year-old" in reference to her… she IS a dog, though. If I made that unclear. 😛

    • Thanks! Wow, four years (happy early blogiversary!)… I hope to keep blogging for that long 😛 There’ll probably be weird pauses and breaks and things along the way, though. It’s an awesome community, and I plan to stay here for a long, long time! 😀

  2. Pingback: What Do You Mean I’ve Been Blogging for Two Years?! | Books and Bark·

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

