WeWriWa | The CyberWorld: McVaine

Back to the world of The CyberWorld! For once, this isn’t a continuation of last week’s post. This scene takes place the first time Breeze’s Guard, McVaine, meets her. Enjoy! πŸ˜€

McVaine’s shoulders were tense as he left the room; his knuckles, clutching the clipboard, had turned white. I’m only doing this for you, Bellatris. Only for you. For heaven’s sake, I would rather watch over my sister. How long has it been since I changed my name, my identity, out of my loyalty to you? I just really hope your plan works. If not… it better not hurt my family. Especially my little sister.

Blog Post, Idea, and Novel Excerpt Β© Sabrina Wolfheart & the Books and Bark blog

________________________________________________________________

Oh my goodness, did you just say no more world-building?!? Of course, there’s more to the world, but that’s all I have to share with you… for now. πŸ˜›

I wanted to go in a different direction with this post, so instead of following along with Breeze’s story, here you have the story of her Guard. It’s sort of in the prologue part, and it’s being told from his point of view instead of hers.

You might want to revisit the Guards excerpt, which talks a little bit about McVaine… or maybe you remember him? πŸ˜› I know some of you might. πŸ˜‰

Fun fact, this is from one of the chapters I liked and preserved… meaning that this isn’t from my rewrite! Of course, it’ll probably change, as everything does, because it needs more emotion, but for now, I’m quite proud I didn’t press myself to change it. πŸ™‚

In other news… I’ve got more review copies! πŸ˜€ Houghton Mifflin Harcourt was kind enough to send me A Wolf Called Romeo, and HarperCollins sent me The Queen of the Tearling. Other upcoming reviews include What’s Left of Me and Cinder. I’m also still traveling, and currently in a different time zone than I normally am in, so sorry if some timing/scheduling stuff seems weird. I have wi-fi, though! πŸ˜€

Well, I hope you enjoyed the snippet!

Happy 8Sunday,

Sabrina signature

 

 

Blog Post, Idea, and Novel Excerpt Β© Sabrina Wolfheart & the Books and Bark blog

22 responses to “WeWriWa | The CyberWorld: McVaine

  1. Ooh, I LOVED Cinder, so I’m excited to see what you have to say about it in your review! πŸ™‚ And I keep meaning to read What’s Left of Me…

  2. Hahah more emotion is good, but I think this snippet has plenty already! And shown instead of told, so it’s good emotion, the high grade sipping kind.
    Good eight.

    • Oh, really? Okay. I don’t want the kind of “fake” emotion which has more telling than showing, like, “I am sad,” and therefore you know the character is sad. Thanks for letting me know your thoughts πŸ™‚

  3. Love this snippet! I definitely want to know more about this McVaine fellow. Excellent 8 sentences and I can’t wait to read more.

    On another note, I’m so jealous you got THE QUEEN OF THE TEARLING! That’s on my TBR list.

    Safe travels!

    • Thanks! Glad you’re intrigued. πŸ˜€

      THE QUEEN OF THE TEARLING is pretty good so far. It’s available in stores now; I’ve seen it in a lot of drug stores with 30% off the original price. My favorite part is possibly the character named Pen. I mean, PEN. Pens are my favorite objects. And it’s perfect for him. πŸ™‚ Definitely read it when you get the chance.

      Thanks! πŸ™‚

  4. This was definitely intriguing πŸ˜€ I’m curious why he is so loyal to Bellatris, but I guess that’s the point of this excerpt πŸ˜„ I have a little sister, so older siblings protecting their younger ones really affects me. I nearly cried at the end of Frozen :$ You do a great job at characterization. You have me caring about a guard here πŸ˜‰

    • Aw, thanks πŸ™‚ Though that might have to do with the little vignette you wrote about him πŸ˜‰ Wow, I’m good at characterisation? That’s a first… Glad you liked it anyhow! πŸ˜€

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

