WeWriWa | The CyberWorld: Fury’s Name

More from The CyberWorld this week! πŸ˜€ Fury is another character from the story. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

Fury sat in the hallway, tracing his name in his palm. His real name.
It had been so long since he had used it, since somebody had called him by his real name. His eyes flashed slowly gleaming. She wanted to escape, too. At some point she would need to know him. Need to know his real name, who he really was. Things he had not revealed for many, many years.

Blog Post, Idea, and Novel Excerpt Β© Sabrina Wolfheart & the Books and Bark blog

________________________________________________________________

I know you actually don’t know who Fury is yet, but he was actually one of my favorite characters to write, and probably my character with the most development. So I guess this was just some internal conflict. πŸ˜› With all the background done, it’s hard choosing which quotes to include without giving away the entire plot πŸ˜€

I know I’ve kind of just been introducing you to Guards lately. So here’s Fury, who is actually a more important character than McVaine is in the story yet for some reason you haven’t seen him yet because most of his quotes are absolutely horrific and terrible.

Next week, I’ll be going back to school (which is actually good because I can stop procrastinating on EVERYTHING), but never fear! I’ll still be doing WeWriWa and bringing you more 8-sentence snippets throughout the school year as well. It’s nice that it’s on Saturday and Sunday, so I can participate without worrying about homework and school activities. Mostly. πŸ˜€

As for The CyberWorld, I’m planning to finish my editing by August 30th, although I don’t know how much I’ll actually get through with school and everything. I’m still going to be blogging, and you’re most probably going to be having an update from me on Wednesday, in which I’ll tell you how much blogging I can actually do.

Next week, I’m going to be posting my review for The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen, and after that, A Wolf Called Romeo by Nick Jans. As for what I’m reading now: yes, still Grendel. It’s actually pretty good. I feel bad for the little monster 😦

I know I’ve been posting every day for the past four days, but there’ll be no post tomorrow, so you can finally get a break from all of my writing and blogging antics πŸ˜‰

I hope you enjoyed the snippet and happy 8Sunday! πŸ˜€
Sabrina signature

13 responses to “WeWriWa | The CyberWorld: Fury’s Name

  1. Fury…What an interesting name for a character. You will have to tell me more about him – he just sounds so interesting. Nice excerpt πŸ˜‰

  2. Currently reading The Bourne Identity and I just imagined Matt Damon for that snippet when I read “his real name” xD
    WHO IS SHE~
    This excerpt’s gripping!

    • I haven’t read The Bourne Identity yet and seem to be the only person in the world who doesn’t know who Matt Damon is but I’m glad it made you think of him (I think??) πŸ˜›
      Glad you found the excerpt gripping! πŸ˜€

  3. I love this snippet so much! I actually wrote something like this for Zack. He was kept in solitary confinement, and then the alien cells took over, so he started to lose his memories. So he would trace his name on the wall so he didn’t forget. Margaret Atwood did a scene like that too in Year of the Flood. One of her characters survives the apocalypse and she keeps saying her name so she doesn’t forget. There is a quote from that scene that I love, “You can forget who you are if you are alone too much.” I liked the rest of this too, but I guess it is obvious what my favorite line is πŸ˜„ Definitely curious about Fury! Lovely snippet as always πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! This is actually something different, about him just wondering about his life, because he’s been keeping his real name a secret for so long. Oh, that’s just a beautiful quote! And I’m glad to know what your favorite line is πŸ˜€ Maybe I won’t edit it out later.

  4. I realize this is a short snippet and no doubt the reader would have the referent for “she.” But on WWW I’ve modified snippets so the character’s name (in square brackets) is substituted for such pronouns.

    • Actually, “she” is not identified until a little later. I’ve thought about including her name, but am still undecided. But I’ll definitely do so in the future! πŸ˜€

  5. I enjoyed the snippet and was intrigued, so much to ponder. Minor nit – “His eyes flashed, slowly gleaming.” He can’t see his own eyes so I’d delete that. If the book is already published, no big deal, just a thought for the future! Looking forward to more revelations about this character…

    • Thanks! Oh, whoops. I didn’t catch that. It’s a bit weird because it’s sort of stating the same thing twice. The scene’s not from his POV, so I guess it might make sense? It’s from third-person.
      Not published… yet πŸ˜› I’m still editing, so these comments are really helpful. πŸ˜€

  6. Pingback: WeWriWa | Bellatris | Books and Bark·

  7. Pingback: WeWriWa | Wishes | Books and Bark·

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

