Bookshelf Tag!

Well, now you guys get to hear all about my amazing (and really large and messy) bookshelf! Desiree B tagged me, and since I have probably overloaded you guys with book reviews the past few days (with more coming up this week!), I thought it might be nice for you to hear a bit about my bookshelf and the stuff I like to read.

THE RULES:

Answer the following questions about books on your book and then tag five other bloggers. You can answer the questions any way you want, whether it’s on your blog, in a video, or a combination of the two. Then remember to let whoever tagged you know when your post is up so they can read it.

AND OFF WE GO WITH THE QUESTIONS!

1. Is there a book that you really want to read but haven’t because you know that it’ll make you cry?

Well, not a book I want to read, but a book I want to reread. I loved A Dog’s Purpose and its sequel, A Dog’s Journey, by W. Bruce Cameron, but they were both horrifyingly sad. I encourage you to read them a first time, though.

2. Pick one book that helped introduce you to a new genre.

Oodly enough, I’m going to pick Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne. I first read the book when I was eight or nine (my ultimate reading phase). It got me into reading classics. While I never really could get myself into Little Women or Anne of Green Gables, I have always loved Jules Verne’s books. Some of my favorite classics include Around the World in 80 Days (quite obviously), Journey to the Center of the Earth, and 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. 

3. Find a book that you want to reread.

For one, I want to reread Jules Verne’s books. I haven’t read any classics (which weren’t for school) for years. Other than that, I’ve been thinking a lot about Inkheart lately, as well as Incarceron, by Catherine Fisher.

4. Is there a book series you read but wish that you hadn’t?

Actually, yes. I don’t like saying negative things about books, but this question demands it. I’d have to choose the Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth. I loved the first book, but the last book especially had such a convoluted plot that I think if I’d stopped at Divergent, I would have had a lot more appreciation for the series.

5. If your house was burning down and all of your family and pets were safe, which book would you go back inside to save?

Well, probably my Kindle, or my laptop. They’ve both got a lot of my digital books stored on them, plus my laptop has all of my own writing on it as well (some of which is not backed up, which is scary.) 😥 If I had to choose a physical book, I think I might just grab my Agatha Christie collection, because it’s got lots of stories that should keep me satisfied until I can rebuild my shelf.

6. Is there one book on your bookshelf that brings back fond memories?

I’d say Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, and just the general Harry Potter series in general. This was the first series I really fell in love with, the first world that I really felt I could visit, that was real. (In fact, I unashamedly waited for my Hogwarts letter on my eleventh birthday. My parents still tease me.)

tumblr_static_2

“Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.”

7. Find a book that has inspired you the most.

I’m going to take this question to mean, “find a book that has inspired you the most to write.” Because there have been so many books that have inspired me in different ways, I couldn’t possibly name them all.

Harry Potter made me realize that every day people could write novels. J.K. Rowling was a woman with nothing left in her life. But she’d written when the words came to her, and she’d become one of the most celebrated writers of the 21st century. Anybody can become a writer. Nobody had ever told me that before. And I think that’s when I really sat down and wrote.

I saw myself in What’s Left of MeWhen I read the excerpts, I found Kat’s words reminding me of my own, her main character so amazingly well-constructed that, for the first time, I felt that I could become like her, if only I could get Breeze right. I think, more than anything, Kat Zhang made me realize that teens can write.

8. Do you have any autographed books?

Yep! I’m lucky enough to have three! Strange and Ever After by Susan Dennard, Parallel Worlds by Michio Kaku, and The Secret Life of Dog Catchers by Shirley Zindler.

9. Find the book that you have owned the longest. 

I think that would be, I Can’t, Said the Ant, by Polly Cameron. I still love looking through it sometimes. It’s written in rhyme, and used to be one of my favorite books as a child. Plus, it’s got really cute illustrations.

“What’s all the clatter?” asked the platter.
“Teapot fell,” said the dinner bell.
“Teapot broke,” said the artichoke.
“She went kerplop,” said the mop.
“Is she dead?” asked the bread.

10. Is there a book by an author that you never imagined you would read or enjoy? *spoiler: but then I did*

Strangely enough, I never thought I’d enjoy or read Harry Potter. I’ve always been sort of “against” popular fiction, because I guess I want to appreciate the under-appreciated authors (if that makes any sense at all). But my mom forced me into watching the first movie (I know, I know), and I loved it so much I knew I had to read the book, because it had to be better.

AND THE NEXT PEOPLE WHO SHOULD DO THIS ARE…
  1. Nevillegirl from Musings from Neville’s Navel
  2. The Paper Butterfly from The Paper Butterfly
  3. Emily from The Loony Teen Writer
  4. Victoria from Coffee. Write. Repeat.
  5. Caffe Maggieato from Just Get It Written
16 responses to “Bookshelf Tag!

  1. When Harry Potter came out I was in high school. I don’t remember what I read in 9th grade for fun, but when I was 15 I wanted to read all the classics, so I got a list and started working through it XD I never really gave Harry Potter a chance. I might like it, I just never allowed myself to get involved. I feel like the only person in the world that hasn’t read it :$

    When I was a kid it was all about the Goosebumps series. Those were fading into obscurity by the time you were probably old enough to read them, lol.

    I agree with you, I would run in and rescue my laptop if I could! Books can be replaced, writing with no backup can’t. I wouldn’t risk my life for a book that could be repurchased.

    I just read your review of “What’s Left of Me,” and it sounds like a really awesome book with a great premise. Even cooler that she accomplished so much as a teen ^_^ I feel lucky I found writing in my mid-20s. I think it would have been something I would have loved to do as a teen if the right resources existed. The internet was still rapidly developing when I was in highschool. Blogs didn’t really exist and neither did fanfiction sites. But I’m glad I found it when I did. I still have a lot of time left to write ^^

    I haven’t read Divergent either, but if I give it a go I’ll stop at the first book. I feel a bit conflicted about trilogies. I think if the story naturally has flows into sequels then go for it, but if it has to be forced then it just drags down the rest of the series preceding it.

    Oh a Dogs Purpose looks awesome! I’ll have to add that to my wish list. It has 5/5 stars on Amazon. I just read an excerpt of Murakami’s work , Heigh-Ho, from the Paris Review. It’s the story of a man that finds lost cats, and he has this special ability to communicate with them. I love it so much I might see if my library has the whole thing because I want to read it: http://www.theparisreview.org/fiction/5444/heigh-ho-haruki-murakami

    Friend A loves dogs, and has a puppy of her own. I could give her the book after I’m done with it. Although I’d have to inform her it was sad. I’d love to incorporate more animals/pets into my story. The girl that has an abusive father will have a cat because I think it fits. Already looking forward to writing the cat parts XD

    Anyway, thanks for sharing 🙂 I love reading about other’s books interests 😀

    • Yep, I wasn’t the biggest Harry Potter fan until third or fifth grade, which was a lot later than most of my friends. The only reason why I’ve read it today is because of my mom forcing me into watching it.

      I remember Goosebumps. I was never a fan of horror, and it sounded scary, so I’ve never read them 😛

      Yep! Although I could grab one of my ARC copies. I’d never get another one….

      Oh, What’s Left of Me is great! I’m currently reading the sequel, Once We Were. Kat’s an awesome writer, and I do hope she keeps writing. 😀

      Divergent actually did naturally flow in the sequel, Insurgent but Allegiant, the last book, had so many convoluted plot holes that it was just not worth reading. It felt so much like sloppy editing and writing.

      A Dog’s Purpose is really great! It would go on my list of my favorite books… except I can never reread it. Pets have to be regulated in books. When I first started writing, I didn’t understand that, so every character would have a pet of their own, and their breed, size, name, and gender would all be described to a tee. I’ll definitely check that out! Thanks for sharing! 😀

      Yep! I wrote a story once, for a fan fiction contest. It was about a cat, and I really enjoyed writing it. 😛 I might revamp it and make it a bit more original sometime. I’m not sure where I can submit it (it won the contest, but it was never printed), but I’d like to see if I could get it in a literary magazine.

      Me, too! Looking forward to your post 🙂

  2. Ooh, this is neat! I’ll definitely be doing this tag… now, where can I fit it in?! :O

    (I’ve been trying to schedule my posts a week or so in advance. Is that weird? For example, there’ll definitely be a review of “Deep Breath” on August 29th. :P)

    • Yep! I schedule my blog posts, too. Like, in my head. (This on Monday, this on this day, etc.) Although this was so fun to do I broke my own rules and went ahead and did it today 😛

      (A review of “Deep Breath,” you say? Please do sign me up!)

      • I just have so many ideas that it’s not at all hard to plan out posts, like, two weeks in advance. xD

        Yeah, I think I’d like to do reviews as each episode comes out. 😀 In one form or another… a list here, something funny there, something serious over here…

        • I know! Half the time, I sit down and get writer’s block. 😛

          Oooh, that would be cool *prepares to die* I just hope the Doctor gets back his, “900 years of time and space, and I’ve never met someone who wasn’t important,” feel. I miss that about the show. *prepares for utter awesomeness*

  3. Now that I think about it…I haven’t read many classics lately. I’ll have to look into that. You seem to enjoy them alot! I’m more of a Poe though.

    Also…I didn’t know there was Hogwarts letters!?

    • Nor have I! I’m looking forward to it, since school’s started, but I just found out that I don’t have a real English teacher since she quit and moved away. *cries*

      No, there aren’t 😥 Didn’t stop me waiting for mine, though! 😛

  4. I agree about the Divergent trilogy- that series went in a direction that I think could have been improved upon. I have the same feeling about the Hunger Games, actually. Great tag! 🙂

    • I loved the premise of Divergent. But I felt it sort of spiraled down with Insurgent, and Allegiant‘s plot holes messed it all up. I respect the Plot Twist Roth decided on doing, but everything else…
      Yep, The Hunger Games I felt was a bit predictable. But I loved the first book–so well-written! 😀

  5. Pingback: Bookshelf Tag | The Paper Butterfly·

  6. Pingback: A Bookshelf Tag | Musings From Neville's Navel·

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

