What’s Up Wednesday | Basically, School & Take a “Deep Breath”

AlienStarsSchool started this week. Yay? Thankfully, it hasn’t been much work (yet), so I have time to write this post. Please, do join me as I cover my mad week and assuage your worst fears about Books and Bark (or, rather, what I think they are).

Instead of discussing the really cute little sparkly alien in the graphic on the left, I am going to skip over my genetic urge and continue writing what you actually want to hear.

What I’m Reading

Well, I finished The Queen of the Tearling, for one. I’ll be posting my thoughts on that sometime this week (Thursday? Friday? I’m actually writing this post on Tuesday, because tomorrow, we’ll start getting math homework.) I’m currently reading A Wolf Called Romeo, which is a very nice piece of work about a wolf called Romeo (well, I’m sure you knew that…) that befriends the town of Juneau, Alaska. I also gulped down Once We Were today, as I have to be prepared for the release of Echoes of Us this September! 😀

In case you’re interested in my TBR, I’m reading Parallel Universes, and Space and Time in Special Relativity for physics this year (it’s supplemental material). I actually want to read these and bought them both myself. I’d planned to read them over the summer, but I got caught up in my summer reading for English class and didn’t have time. In terms of fiction, I’m planning on reading The Innocent Assassins by Pema Donyo next, and, after that, Susan Dennard’s Something Strange and Deadly trilogy.

What I’m Writing

Currently, nothing. 😥 I’m still trying my best to edit The CyberWorld. I still want to finish it this month, but my course load for school is pretty heavy, and I may have to wait till Thanksgiving break to rip it apart. Of course, I’ll be writing essays for school. With my teacher’s permission, maybe I can even post a few of them? We’ll see. Of course, new ideas are always popping into my head, and I’m trying to write them down as best as I can, but, alas! School.

What Inspires Me Right Now

This week, I think sleep takes the cake. I haven’t woken up at 6:30 AM for months. And last year, my classes were closer to the front end of the school, so I could wake up at seven and dash out the door. (This year, my teacher threatens detention and a report with the school if we’re tardy three times. Which is school policy. But still. He even made us sign contracts he can present to the administration to get things cited.)

And to think my mom gets up at 6:00 AM every morning?!? I have a deep and newfound respect for that. Yes. I’m already looking forward to my pillow… (Zzzz… Oh, sorry. Um, I wasn’t asleep.)

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Well, you know. School. In case you hadn’t heard. 😛 I’m taking two advanced science classes, Pre-Calculus/Calculus, advanced English, French, advanced band, and advanced history. So, basically, S-C-H-O-O-L. I got a lot of good teachers this year, though, which surprised me. 🙂 At the very least, if they’re boring, they’re the teachers who teach the most, with the exception of my English teacher, who quit to move away a month before school started. We have a sub and they’re trying to get us a teacher, but it might be a while. I think the only bad thing about school that my favorite teacher, who was my English teacher last year, moved up to teach my grade… and I didn’t get her. 😦 This year will also be different, because most of my close friends are only taking six classes, while I’m taking seven, which means that they leave school before me. That’s very new to me.

Due to school, I may not be able to do What’s Up Wednesday every week from now on. Since it’s on a school night (I write my posts Tuesday nights most days), I sometimes won’t have time to write a post. I’ll still be posting my novel excerpts when I do WeWriWa every Saturday, and I’ll be aiming to do one or two other posts throughout the week.

I’ve also been slowly weaning myself off free time and Doctor Who whenever I want (something which I am apparently not very good at, because I am doing this instead of preparing for school tomorrow, like I should be). It is very hard with the new series coming up, oh, say, this Saturday.

If there are any Whovians following my blog out there, please do talk me to me! I love hearing from you 😀 And yes, I did think that was important enough to bold. (Also: would anybody be interested if I blogged about Doctor-Who-related topics? These could be anywhere from episode reviews to “5 Reasons Why You Should Watch Doctor Who” posts to “An Analysis of the Doctor” [love analyzing things!].)

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

TARDIS, dinosaur, Big Ben? Mr. Moffat, I am expecting great things from you!

Have a great week, and to all you Whovians out there… take a Deep Breath! (No, seriously. Don’t forget to breathe in all your excitement.)

Sabrina signature

21 responses to “What’s Up Wednesday | Basically, School & Take a “Deep Breath”

  1. Doctor Who premieres on Sunday?! How did I miss it was coming up that fast? And wow — what a poster! I’m a little leery of Peter Capaldi, but then, I felt that way about every new incarnation of the Doctor. I can’t believe I once didn’t care for David Tennant. (Was I crazy?)

    Last summer, my family visited the Doctor Who Museum in Cardiff, Wales and also had a BBC Studio tour. We stood on the actual set of the TARDIS! And we followed that up with a visit to the Welsh beach where Ten said good-bye to Rose. (Because it’s not really in Norway or called Bad Wolf Beach.)

    I don’t usually plug my own posts when I comment, but as a fellow Whovian, you might enjoy these photos from our tour: http://diannesalerni.com/getting-our-geek-on/

    • That’s Saturday, in my time zone! 😀 (Which is now less than 24 hours away…) I’ve never been sure of any of the regenerations either, and I was really weirded out by Ten especially (he was my first post-regeneration Doctor) 😛

      That’s so cool! I haven’t visited England yet, but Cardiff’s going to be on my list of places to go! My mum and I are both Doctor Who fans, and I just want to see the CITY of Cardiff after hearing so much about it! 😀

      And thanks for sharing your photos–they’re so cool! I agree with your daughter: You stood on the ground the Doctor stood on. To go all Donna-Noble: Oh. My. God. 😀

      I tried to leave a comment on your post, but couldn’t figure out how. 😦

      • The old posts are closed to comments because of pernicious spam. Glad you enjoyed the pictures, It was an amazing trip. And yeah, I eventually figured out it was Saturday, not Sunday. Good thing, too! I LOVED the first episode. I might like Capaldi after all!

        • Yep! I liked the first and second episodes a lot, too, but the third one (Robot of Sherwood) had that classic Doctor Who non-sensical-science conclusion to it. 😛 And Listen I thought was meh. :\

  2. Wow! That is a very full and dense reading load. Bravo to you! Hopefully things pick up with editing and writing, looking forward to an update! Good luck with school and writing, and have a great week 🙂

    • Thanks! I’m enjoying making my way through it 😛 I hope editing picks up, too; it’s just been school for the past four days (hence the lack of response to my comments). Hope you have a great week, too! 😀

  3. Good luck with school, especially your physics reading. I struggled so much with it as a student, but as an adult I’ve enjoyed reading about it every now and then in my own time 🙂

    • Thanks! Apparently, physics at our school is supposed to be pretty easy, because they like it when we’re wrong. So we get to retake each test twice, if we want to, and being wrong is really appreciated 😀

  4. Sounds like you have a full school load! Lucky for me, I don’t have to go back to school until next week. I’m not looking forward to it…oh well, summer has to end some time. Good luck with your classes!

    • Yep! Oh, you lucky/poor thing (considering this was your last week of summer break). 😛 Classes aren’t half bad, most of the time, teachers exaggerate their difficulty to discourage bad students from taking them, I’ve found.

      School’s fun when you get into it, and when you take what interests you. Hope you have a fun school year 😀

      • Taking classes that you’re interested in makes all the difference. It’s much harder to study when it’s not interesting to you. I hope your school year is fun too! 🙂

  5. Oh, goodness. One thing I do NOT miss about high school is the ridiculous time we had to get up. Flexible college schedules are the best. Remember to get some sleep, girl!
    *Would most definitely be interested in Doctor Who related topics* So pumped for the premiere.

    • Good goodness, yes. Who wakes up at the ungodly hour of 6:30 AM?!?! Thanks! I need the reminder, or I end up staying up late blogging 😛

      Maybe I’ll post my thoughts on 12? I don’t know… I’m considering live tweeting the premier (when they’re not running, I mean) 😛

  6. Good luck with highschool! I hate waking up early. When left to my own devices I go to bed at 1-2 AM XD Sorry you didn’t get the English teacher you wanted. My senior year I had an awesome AP English teacher and she helped inspire my love of writing. Oh what instrument do you play? I played the flute for many years. Editing takes a lot of emotional and mental energy. I can’t really write when I’m editing something :/

    • Thanks! Yep, I do the same 😛 I might even go to bed at 3 if I didn’t strain my eyes so much reading/typing/writing/watching TV 😛 Sometimes, the only reason I go to sleep is because my eyes are tired.

      We’re FINALLY getting our teacher next week, so that’s good :\ I play the clarinet but I haven’t practiced all summer so I’m no good.

      Yep. 😀 Strangely I find writing something else helps fill in that void… I miss writing *le sigh*

    • Oh my goodness, you’re a Doctor Who fan, too?!?! Asking you guys if you liked the show was the best idea I have ever had. Okay, maybe not, but still…

      Busy but good… I may have to use that in a book! 😛

  7. Ugh, I feel you. I like school, and yet… *flails because she’ll have less free time*

    I’d love to hear your thoughts on Doctor Who!
    AAAAH I’M SO EXCITED
    MY FRIENDS WHO’VE ALREADY SEEN THE EPISODE WERE JUST LIKE
    “eeeeeeeeeee tWELVE”
    AND
    “OMG VASTRA AND JENNY”

    • I know. I’m so tempted to post about it, but then… school. And yeah, I like Twelve. I am possibly Twelve, but not-Scottish. Because [insert spoilers here]. But let me know when you see the episode so that I can stop saying [insert spoilers here]. 😛

  8. Yes, please feel free to post loads of Doctor Who Analysis and reviews! I love reading other people’s opinions 😀

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

