Book Review | The 100 & Day 21

In the future, humans live in citylike spaceships orbiting far above Earth’s toxic atmosphere. No one knows when, or even if, the long-abandoned planet will be habitable again. But faced with dwindling resources and a growing populace, government leaders know they must reclaim their homeland…before it’s too late.
Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents are being sent on a high-stakes mission to recolonize Earth. After a brutal crash landing, the teens arrive on a savagely beautiful planet they’ve only seen from space. Confronting the dangers of this rugged new world, they struggle to form a tentative community. But they’re haunted by their past and uncertain about the future. To survive, they must learn to trust-and even love-again.

Synopsis via Goodreads

Source: Review copies provided by Little, Brown. (I’m going to be reviewing both The 100 and Day 21, sequel to The 100. No spoilers for either of them, don’t worry. 😛 )

The 100 Mini-Review: If the book was even half as good as the synopsis, I would have been happy. But SURPRISE. It wasn’t. There were SO MANY FLASHBACKS, it was just overbearing. And the character voices just all sounded the same. I didn’t care about any of them. Honestly, this book is only higher than 1 star because of the fantastic premise of the book. There was very little depth in the book, and there was barely any plot. The 100 read like a teaser for the next book; I literally cannot distinguish between where The 100 ended and where Day 21 started. Rating: 1.5/5 Stars

Day 21 Mini-Review: The only thing that got me to read this was (1) it was sent to me for review and (2) the cliffhanger of the first book did keep me going, although I cared for none of the characters. This felt like it was the climax of the first book, but the books were just split up and had some mediocre romance scenes thrown in to eat the pages. I really wanted to like this book. I really, really did. The characters from The 100 were so whiny, and I hoped they’d finally stop. Rating: 2/5 Stars

tennant-no

One of the more useless main characters finally did play a part in the actual part of the story, but other than that, it was no better than the first. The “a-ha” moments didn’t make me a-ha, and the romantic scenes had no effect on me. I probably won’t read the third book.

Okay, now let’s go character-by-character.

Wells. Wells is the only character with even a tiny bit of depth to him. That being said, he is so. whiny. He commits a crime, endangering thousands of peoples’ lives so that he can go with the rest of the hundred down to Earth, because one of them, Clarke, is his ex-girlfriend who now hates him. Wells is the Chancellor’s son, and a lot of him was there to add depth to the Chancellor, which didn’t really happen. He spends 99% of the time thinking about Clarke and the other 1% giving orders and actually being a character. But he has the right morales, and the right rationality; he was the only one who I could see was making a difference to the plot every chapter, while he organizes the camp on Earth to make sure they all stay alive.

Clarke. Okay. Clarke was also bearable. She’s a medical student who was arrested for some unknown reason, and now she is being sent to Earth. I felt that she actually did have quite a bit of depth to her, but only in the endless flashbacks. I think I’d rather read about life aboard the ship than on Earth. While the flashbacks are disorienting in the normal story, I cared about them much more than the actual plot. The MAJOR problem with Clarke is that she’s such a weak character in the actual plot. The entire storyline is basically about how Wells and Bellamy (he’s up next!) are fighting for Clarke’s admiration and love. Which I really wasn’t interested in.

Bellamy. Bellamy hasn’t committed a crime. He fought his way onto the ship to Earth so that he could protect his little sister, Octavia. I just don’t get him. Half the time, he’s yelling at his sister or Clarke, and then the other half he’s telling them how much he loves them.

Jon-Stewart-Saying-Why-Daily-Show

That is all I have to say about him.

Glass. Glass was possibly the most irritating point of view. She is set to go down to Earth with Wells, Clarke, and Bellamy, but then she escapes so that she can go back to her ex-boyfriend. Let me emphasize EX-boyfriend. She has been arrested for quite a while now. Her boyfriend has moved on. But of course he’ll just break up with his current girlfriend, Camille, so that he can be with her. Who he hasn’t seen for months. And has been unexplainably absent. Honestly, Glass has no part in The 100. It’s only in Day 21 that she affects the plot in the smallest possible way. I didn’t get Camille either. She was really rude and disgusting about the whole thing. I WAS SO CONFUSED. Also, Glass is supposed to be Wells’s best friend back when they were on the ship. Yet Wells never even mentions her. Once. 

Honestly, if it weren’t for the setting, this book would have had 1 tail, which is the lowest I go. Fortunately, there was the setting.

Do yourself a favor: DO NOT READ THIS BOOK.

2/5 Wagging Tails

Wagging TailsWagging Tails
________________________________________________________________

the100The 100 and Day 21 were written by Kass Morgan. There will be a third book coming out in the series. The series has also been adapted into a TV show of the same name. Do yourself a favor: watch the TV show. Don’t read the book. 

4 responses to “Book Review | The 100 & Day 21

  1. YES! Honestly, if I hate one thing, it’s whiny characters. They can annoy me to such an extent that I have to put down the book. Wells sounds terrible 🙂

    • Yes, me too! Wells actually wasn’t so bad in the flashbacks, and strangely he was my favorite in the present tense. I think if he’d been the sole narrator (or Clarke/him had been), then the book would have gotten 3/5 stars. It was GLASS who really annoyed me. A lot of the other reviewers liked her, but I didn’t. She kept claiming she was “so strong” and yet all she ever did was sit around and snog her boyfriend and cry.

  2. Sounds like a rare case where the movie or in this case tv show is better, but that’s probably because all the took was the interesting concept. Nice review, I was tempted to read this one, but now I think I’ll pass.

    • Yep! I think this concept was better suited to a movie, and I remember thinking as I read it: “This would make a really good movie script.” Thanks! Normally I’d encourage you to read it anyways, in case we have different taste, but this book has so many bad reviews I just don’t think you should. Glad I helped you avoid that! 😀

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

