WeWriWa | Glass & 5 Quick NaNo Tips

Hey guys! I’m back! 😀 I know it’s been a while. But to kick off NaNoWriMo, I thought it might be nice to share some of my novel with you. Enjoy! 😀

I squinted my eyes from the stark whiteness of it all, and caught a glimpse of Furydeath sitting in a corner, behind a screen as polished as the rest of the room, but transparent instead of white. Glass, something inside me said. It was shiny, and I blinked; the room’s starkness reflected off of it and into my eyes. Spots danced around, blurring my vision. My mother had told me about glass: a rare commodity, after the War. Only found on Earth’s surface, legend had it that it took centuries to form. And here, in front of me, stretching across a wide, five-foot-long expanse: glass. Only the Creators would have had enough money, enough power, enough resources; my lip curled.

Blog Post, Idea, and Novel Excerpt © Sabrina Wolfheart & the Books and Bark blog

________________________________________________________________

Happy NaNoWriMo and Halloween, guys! (Yes, that sentence was, in fact, grammatically correct.)

I apologize for the lack of well-written blog posts of late; I’ve been concentrating on school. The amount of homework and tests they give us is insane. At least compared to last year, which was pretty easy. (Says me, next year).

I recently worked out a system to motivate me to write my novel instead of hang around the Interwebs in my spare time. Basically, every time I finish revising, editing, or rewriting a chapter, I print it out and stick it into the Wonderful Binder of Things To Edit (More). It’s been working fantastically, and although it’s not polished or in book form, it feels great to see my novel in print for the first time.

And because I feel this post is too short to end right now (and I have nothing else to say), I offer you

Sabri’s (Short) Tips to Having a Successful NaNoWriMo (or any other month)

(And yes, that was grammatically correct.)

  1. Just write! We’re here to write, anyways, so you might as well do it. Don’t look back to edit every chapter, unless you absolutely know that you won’t get hung up on every word.
  2. Edit if you need to. I know NaNoWriMo tells you not to use the “delete” key during the month, but I say do so if you need to. Save the words, maybe set them aside, and count them towards your goal, but don’t use them in your novel if they don’t fit. You don’t “need to edit” if a word feels out of place; save that for your next draft, but if you’re questioning a major decision or scene, do.
  3. Back up your manuscript. This applies to anything you ever write. Ever. My first year doing NaNoWriMo, I put my novel on a flashdrive. In December, I lost that flashdrive (only to have it resurface a few months ago). Luckily, I’d emailed myself a copy of my novel, so I didn’t lose that precious first draft.
  4. Motivate yourself! I’ve set myself a printing reward, but you can do anything you like. Like ice cream? Treat yourself to ice cream every time you hit a major plot point.
  5. NaNoWriMo is not more important than life. Trust me on this one. It’s really, really not. I follow some bloggers who focused way too much on their writing, and lost their house, their money, their jobs, and essentially gave up their lives for writing. Even if it is National Novel Writing Month, your life is much more important. It’ll be a miracle if I manage to write 2,000 words per day this year. If you’re a student, like me, focus on your studies. Contrary to popular belief, you should not count on being a NY Times bestselling novelist at the tender age of fifteen. Your grades will determine the rest of your life. Your novels probably will not.

Well, and that’s all I have! 😀 I hope you enjoyed my excerpt and the tips. If you’d like more from a more experienced writer and ex-WriMo, check out this lovely post by Mel @ InkOutLoud.

Have a wonderful week, and hopefully, I’ll be putting up better posts soon,

Sabrina signature

16 responses to “WeWriWa | Glass & 5 Quick NaNo Tips

  1. 🙂 Interesting 8, Sabrina. Glass–only the Creators… It made me think of Aurthur Clarke’s third law. “Any significantly advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic”. Are Creators a significantly advanced technology?

    It’s good to see you! 🙂 Best of luck completing Nano. Looks like you’ve got a good system in place. 🙂 Jess Schira made a thread for wewriwa on the Nano site–so we could find each other. 🙂 http://nanowrimo.org/forums/writing-groups-and-clubs/threads/181417

    • Yep, Breeze has a lot of those 😛 Well, not quite. I’m not planning on “winning” this year (due to tough high school courses) but I’m still going to be a part of the community and writing hard! 😀

  2. Loved it. The wonder of glass, something so seemingly mundane. So nice to see you back this week. Have a blast with Nano, I’m not participating, but I’ll cheer you on.

  3. Your story sounds interesting! I am only 2k words into my NaNo, so a bit behind, but that was on purpose. I didn’t want to ignore my child the entire month, so my husband and I did a bit of pre-cooking so I can spend time with him during the time I would normally be cooking. Thank you for saying it is ok to edit! My first edit is always simultaneous. I have been trying not to do it, but it is so hard, lol.

    • I’ve been working on it for two years on and off, and it’s STILL not to where I want it to be… *sigh* It’s actually a NaNo novel itself and I followed the “NO EDITING!!!” advice… buuuuttttt it turned into a horrible, awful wreck nobody should have to deal with. 😛 Oh yes! Ignoring your children is a really bad thing. 😀 I’m behind on NaNoWriMo, too (2k as well), and I’m not planning to “win” this year due to extracurriculars and school. But all’s better if I can win 😀

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

