Confessions of a Dog-Earing Addict

Okay, okay. I admit it. Quit pointing the gun at me. *sigh* Yes, I do dog-ear books. It’s not an addiction, no. It’s just sort of a… habit.

Hi Sabrina, and welcome to the book blogger rehabilitation center. Can you introduce yourself for us?

Hi, my name is Sabrina, and I habitually dog-ear books.

(And yes, if you must ask, that was terrifying. My slogan, for as long as I can remember, is A used book is a loved book, and, by “used,” I mean beaten-up and falling apart. And yes, dog-eared.)

Welcome, Sabrina! Please, share your story with us.

I don’t like bookmarks. They’re too fancy, too attention-attracting, and they tend to fall out of my books. Or I tend to take them out and start reading and then leave the bookmark behind as I gradually migrate across my house to lie in the warm sun. (Yes, this actually happens.)

Dog-earing is just so much easier. Plus, you never run out of dog-ears. You can dog-ear as much as you want! Besides, for me, I only dog-ear one page at a time: the page on which I have stopped.

For a long, long time, I believed that dog-earing books is what everybody did. And I mean everybody. Nobody in my fifth-grade class really read as much as I did, and nobody else used bookmarks because our teachers never really handed them out. (I know, I know, you’re going teachers!, but allow me time to explain for their faults.) I guess it was a good thing, too, because we were sticky, messy, sloppy, forgetful little miscreants, er, fifth-graders, and bound to lose the bookmark and the page we were on and have to start all over again, because everyone knows we have no brains.

Well, after a while, I joined the blogosphere. And later the book-blogosphere. And what I saw there terrified me. Horrific slogans of anti-dog-earing tactics pervaded the atmosphere. To survive, it seemed, you must leave behind the dog-earing tactics of old, and conform to the new standard of bookmarking and page-memorizing, neither of which I’d really liked before.

And so I, the poor little A-used-book-is-a-loved-book nerd in the corner gave up what I loved most about books: dog-earing them. Now, now, before you begin judging me, you should know that I had been dog-earing books since I was a wee child, and this was a whole new world. I tried sticky notes (bad, bad things for books!), bookmarks (they kept slipping out), memorizing the page (… was it 321 or 322?) and many other recommended techniques. None of them worked. I took to kind-of-sort-of-not-really memorizing the page number and trying my best to come back later. Nothing, it seemed, worked.

For a long, long time, I was the poor little book blogger in the corner, afraid to admit that I dog-ear. And so I joined the oh-nos and how terribles and other horrific slogans of anti-dog-earing tactics, with little regard for my past as a horrible and avid dog-earer. (Now, I didn’t dog-ear all my books, children! No, no, no! Far from that. I only dog-eared the ones I really, really liked. Also, the ones that weren’t hardbacks or too pretty or too expensive.)

Well, several hundred books and a few years later, I found my fingers itching once again. I needed to dog-ear a book. And so I did. I dog-eared and dog-eared and dog-eared some more. I dog-eared until I had nothing else to dog-ear. And there I stopped, fingers finally at rest, brain buzzing with words. And I realized that all the horrific anti-dog-earing tactic slogans were false. They were just a horrible hegemony of the individualism of book readers. And so I rebelled.

Now, members of the Book Blogger Rehabilitation center, this is where I rebel. I ask you to take up arms and join me, book addicts, in the turning tide against hegemony and false individualism!

Yes. You know what I am asking of you. My dear bookish addicts, I am asking you to dog-ear books to your heart’s content. I am asking you to like paperbacks better than hardcovers. I am asking you, my fellow readers, to unleash your inner bookish insanities in real life. So today, I shall introduce myself again:

My name is Sabrina. I am a dog-earing addict. And I am PROUD!

14 responses to “Confessions of a Dog-Earing Addict

  1. Ah, I am also a habitual dog-earer. (Although I have to admit, since the library came into stock with those origami Darth Vader ones saying READ: it is your destiny, I have been known to sneak in the odd bookmark.)

  2. I actually can’t dog-ear a book. It’s not because I don’t agree with you on the whole loved-book thing, I just can’t bring myself to hurry that process along. I don’t mind other people doing it; I simply can’t make myself do it. I literally own like a gajillion bookmarks (okay, so maybe not so literally). And random tangent: I love the falling snow stuff on your blog!!! It’s so cute!!!

    • Yeah, I get what you’re saying. Like, for those awesomely beautiful hardcovers you just want to marry, I can’t bring myself to, like, touch them. I own SO MANY BOOKMARKS but I keep losing them, and some of them are just so pretty! I have this really awesome one made of redwood that I bought when we were camping and it has a cute little picture of a wolf on it and I really want to use it, but if I lost it I’d cry for days. I know, isn’t the snow so fantastic??!?! πŸ˜€ It was a setting I found last year. You can turn it on, too, if you have a WordPress.com blog, I think.

  3. I’ve never intentionally dog-eared a book. I don’t think I could bring myself to do it XD I try to keep my books looking nice, but the most loved ones look really crappy. By that point I guess I shouldn’t really care, but I still can’t do it XD To me it would be like cutting the ratty hair off of a used barbie and/or My Little Pony. I’ve never done it. But if they are your books, go for it πŸ™‚ I think it’s a bit odd that people write articles on how to stop dog-earring your books, but to each his own I suppose. I love bookmarks but I lose them all the time >_> And the more bookmarks I have the faster I lose them XD

    • Welcome back! πŸ˜€ It’s so great to see you again!

      Yeah, my paperback copy of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (the 6th HP book) is practically falling apart… I’ve taped it over numerous times, but it’s still falling apart. I basically can’t touch it any more, because I’m so afraid the cover will just come off! Yeah, I’ve always dog-eared books. As a child I’d lose bookmarks all the time so finally someone taught me to dog-ear and at first I was horrified but gradually I came to love it. πŸ˜› I suppose it’s a bad habit after a while. Like for some of the most beautiful books I have I have to force myself NOT to dog-ear them, because they’re JUST SO BEAUTIFUL! Hahaha I always love the bookmarks I get and I never want to lose them. I don’t see the point of buying a bookmark that you don’t like… or losing one that you like. It’s a paradox. πŸ˜€

  4. FAIR ENOUGH. Although I don’t ever dog ear books, I think, hey, a well loved book is better than a never read book, right?!! I’m one of those weirdos who like never even tries to bend the covers. I was devestated when I took my copy of Divergent camping and totally DESTROYED the cover. I don’t even know how! I just turned around one day and it had this gouge in the back. *cries quietly*
    When I want to take notes on what I’m reading, I just take a photo of the page number with my iPod. I’m so lazy. πŸ˜‰
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    • EXACTLY. What kind of horrifying human being tries to bend the covers on purpose? WHY WOULD YOU DO SUCH A THING? The only reason I don’t mind dog-earing books is that it doesn’t physically make the book less beautiful, most of the time. I’ve found that the creases tend to flatten out over time.
      Oh, Cait. My thoughts are with you in this hard time. And Divergent has such a beautiful cover, too!
      Haha, that’s why I love the Goodreads app so much! It lets you track where you are in the book. And although I’m a physical copy book person at heart, I can’t help but ADORE the way e-readers save your pages. Seriously, keeping track of the page you’re reading is so hard. It’s better just to read the book in one go. Plus, then you can read MORE books. Muahaha. I shall read all the books. Sort of.
      Have fun with the new blog! It looks awesome! πŸ˜€

  5. Bent covers looks so ugly, and I can’t think of anyone who would want to do such a thing *gasps* πŸ˜› Or if it has a broken spine (lol, my thick Eragon books look brand new). For the longest time, I’d give huuuge lectures to my friends before lending my darlings to them xD

    But I’ll admit it: I never had a problem with dog-earing. Most of the books I read look brand new. Turn ’em over, and you’ll find dog-eared pages. Like you, it’s a habit but I’m breaking out of it though :’)

    (THANKYOU, GOODREADS! ^^)

    • EXACTLY MY THOUGHTS. *looks guilty* What?? What do you mean? It’s not like I break my books’ spines. Every time. Nope, not me. And it’s totally not an accident every time either. I actually no longer loan out books. Once my dad spilled coffee on one and then one of my friends never gave my book back and then moved away. *sigh* Some people…

      Yes Goodreads is the best! πŸ˜€ I like tracking my reading progress, plus they have that AWESOME app. πŸ˜€

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

