Hello, December! In Which I Ramble About Life.

Hello! Sabrina here. Well, obviously. Seeing as I’m the only one who writes on this blog anyways… I’ve finally gotten around to what I’ve been wanting to do for quite a while: Monthly Rambles! Basically, I’m just going to be wrapping up what happened this past month, and what I’m thinking of looking forward.

Er… so what’s been going on in my wonderful but glorious life?

– It was Turkey Day in America last week, which was nice because that meant I had permission to enter the kitchen and explode some food once again. (And I did! I forgot to put milk in the mashed potato mix thing and then I added too much butter to the corn and had to drain, like, half of it out.)

– I participated in NaNoWriMo and for the first time, didn’t win, though I did meet my YWP goal. I also successfully wrote a series of posts as part of SabriNoWriMo, which offered advice for other writers participating in NaNo. It was fun, and I might want to make this a November-ly phenomenon!

– My life has been 1000% BUSY, which is why I have been neglecting the poor blog for quite a while. You see, we have these awful, stressful, hair-pulling things called finals. And for my international readers who may not know what finals are (you are lucky!): trust me. You don’t want to know.

– I also read a lot of books. I’m rather proud of myself because my Goodreads challenge says I’ve read 40 books this year, which is better than last year, when I horrifyingly gave up reading. And I’ve been managing to self-regulate myself so I never read on weeknights. This month I read… *drumroll, please* (books I’ve reviewed are linked)

  1. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee (3/5 wagging tails)
  2. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson (4.5/5 tails)
  3. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling (5/5 tails, duh)
  4. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins (3/5 tails)
  5. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins (2/5 tails… don’t kill me!)
  6. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (like a 2.75/5? Or a 3.02? I don’t know!)
  7. Since You’ve Been Gone by Mary Jennifer Payne (1.5/5 tails)
  8. The Merit Birds by Kelly Powell (3/5 tails)

I didn’t like #6 as much as I thought I would, and I really disliked #7, although I am absolutely in love with #2Also, I reread the Hunger Games books (except the first one, which has mysteriously disappeared…) and liked them better than before! I also reviewed Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and Gracefully Grayson by Ami Polonsky.

– It was my uncle’s birthday this week. He sends me books every year for my birthday. So he’s the best uncle ever. (And sadly the only one out of four who actually gives me books! Do you understand how hard my life is?!) He would like me to inform you that he makes the best aloo tikki ever (see picture below). His previous cooking ventures have included making rajma (Sabrina’s favorite Indian bean dish) for the entire apartment complex, successfully tricking Sabrina into slapping her hand in a bowl of ketchup, and basically cooking food to satisfy Sabrina’s very picky taste. Unfortunately, despite Sabrina’s constant nagging, he does not (yet) have a blog.

Things I Can Ramble About In December

1) Um, if you haven’t caught on yet, finals! And dead week! (Which for you international folks is a week in which we all drop dead from too much studying. Yes, it’s officially called that. No, it’s not a student nickname. It’s in the school planner.)

2) Winter Break! After three weeks of dying at the hands of my teachers, I shall be treated to a gloriously wonderful thing called Winter Break in which I can basically do whatever I want. During this blessed and magical time period, I plan to read, read, read, read, and, oh, read! It was Black Friday and so I treated myself to buying Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige and Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. (Family members: if you’re reading this, you should know I expect at least one book from each of you at a minimum.) Writing-wise, I plan to finally slog through round #1 of edits and send my MS to my ultimate beta-reader and next-room neighbor (read: Mom). So we’ll see how that goes. Expect lots of sobbing GIFs.

Ramble-Worthy Books

Both of these books are awesome, and I just want to ramble about them and buy them for everyone I see… until I realize that not everybody is me and will love Grayson and Emily just as much as I did. Shame. You should go read them anyways. (I stole this idea from Emily @ The Loony Teen Writer. But it’s a good one, so shhh!) Click on the covers to see my thoughts!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well, that was my November! How was yours? And how does your December look?

4 responses to “Hello, December! In Which I Ramble About Life.

  1. Haha, ‘dead week’. I can’t believe it’s actually called that! 🙂
    We had a whole lot of unofficial exams after half term, but we don’t actually have a proper week of them until summer. (Hooray? I guess?)

    Oooh, Since You’ve Been Gone! *sighs at the thought of warm summer days*

    • I know, right?? It’s awful. 😛 I don’t mind school, but exams are just so STRESSFUL. Oh, we have them twice a year, in winter and in spring, plus, like 5 tests a week. 😦

      AHHHH Since You’ve Been Gone is SO FANTASTIC! *screams* I just need to read more of Morgan Matson’s books. NOW. (On a tiny tangent, I actually like winter more than summer… Am I alone here?)

  2. Enjoy Code Name Verity! I loved that book. I almost didn’t read it because one of my books has a main character named Verity, which I thought was pretty unique, and then THIS book came out just a couple months ahead of mine. I was childishly peevish over that. But I got over it, (it’s only her code name anyway), so I read it and I am so glad I did!

    PS – I like to ski and you can’t do that in the summer, so yes, I like winter better too!

    • I’ve heard SO MANY good things about it! Haha, yes, I think I’d hold a grudge against any characters with the same names as my own, too. 😛 Unfortunately, I’m on a Reading Ban for two weeks during finals, so I’m trying my best to stay spoiler-free! 😛

      I tried to ski once. Let me just say that it took me around 3 days to dry. 😛

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

