My Lovely and Long TBR (A Tag)

Hello friends! Of late, I have been neglecting the posts I’ve been tagged in. Well, I strive to change that. Three months ago in September (three months ago?!) Engie @ Musings from Neville’s Navel tagged me in the TBR Tag. This looks really fun (… and terrifying, because my TBR is GIANT!), so here goes! πŸ˜€

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

Well, for the longest time, I would just add it to my little TBR folder in my brain and hope I’d remember when it came around to holiday/birthday season. About two months ago, I was initiated into the ranks of bloggers who use Goodreads, and it’s AWESOME! Now, whenever I want to TBR a book, I can just add it to my shelf! And when the holidays come around, I can just send them the URL of my shelf on Goodreads, which is awesome, because that means no more typing for hours for Sabri! πŸ˜€

I (sadly) don’t really have a TBR pile shelf thing, like a lot of book bloggers do. My mom doesn’t let me buy a new book until I have no more books to read (or it’s my birthday, or Christmas), so I just have a list.

Is your TBR mostly print books or e-books?

Okay, book blogger confession time: I LOVE using my Kindle to read, although I do like physical books better. Plus, I’m running out of space on my bookshelf, and my fiction-books are starting to encroach upon my school-books’ shelf space, so I have a physical-book-buying ban. So it depends on how much space is open on my shelf.

How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

I don’t really check out books from libraries anymore, because I tend to always forget to return them on time (… and I think my library card is currently suspended due to fines…), but I do tend to have some order.

  1. I tend to read books for review first.
  2. Unless there’s a book that I have which I really want to read, in which case I read that first.
  3. Then I read books that seem more interesting.
  4. And then I abandon the books that don’t seem interesting and buy new books.
  5. And then after I finish all my new books and am on (yet another) book-buying ban, I read the less-interesting-sounding books and end up loving them.

A book that’s been on your TBR the longest?

Um, I have no idea, but probably The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien. I’ve read The Two Towers and The Return of the King as well as The Hobbit, but for some reason, I could never really get into the first book.

A book you recently added to your TBR?

We’re talking non-physical list-TBR, right? Okay, then Goodreads tells me I’ve recently added Red Rising by Pierce Brown, Egg and Spoon by Gregory Maguire, How To Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell, Identical by Ellen Hopkins, and Fish Out of Water by Natalie Whipple.

A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?

Um, really, Fairest by Marissa Meyer or Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige. Both of these have the most AWESOME covers ever!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A book on your TBR you never plan on reading?

Dawn and Day by Elie Wiesel. We read Night in class and it was a great book, but it was so horribly sad and painful to read (because of the things in it, not because the writing itself was painful, like bad). I don’t think I could read another book like it.

An unpublished book in your TBR that you’re excited to read?

The Secrets We Keep by Trisha Leaver. Oh, and Winter by Marissa Meyer. And All The Bright Things by Jennifer Niven. GAHH ALL THE BOOKS!

A book in your TBR that everybody recommends to you?

Um, a lot of them. But mostly Looking for Alaska by John Green and If I Stay by Gayle Forman.

Number of books in your TBR?

Oh, hahaha, good one. Wait, seriously? You really want me to tell you the number of books in my TBR? Oh. Well, you’ll be disappointed to hear: I don’t know.

But Goodreads tells me I’ve catalogued 227 of my future victims. *rubs hands villainously*

And I tag…

  1. Nirvana from Nirvana’s Pocketful
  2. Kate from Ravings of a Dead Poet
  3. Appletaile from Twist in the Taile
  4. Irismaytimelord from The Gallifreyan Library
  5. S.R. Carillo from Permashift
10 responses to “My Lovely and Long TBR (A Tag)

  1. Hahaha, you and I have a pretty much same TBR xD

    Winter! Fairest! Egg and Spoon! Dorothy Must Die!
    I read How To Train Your Dragon a while ago, picking it up after seeing it at the library, because, you know THE MOVIE AND TOOTHLESS ❀ ❀
    I was sort of disappointed. The movie was nothing like the book, emphasize on *nothing* πŸ˜₯
    AND FAIREST IS SIMPLY GORGEOUS
    P.S Thanks for tagging me. I'll see if I can post soon, hehe.

    • I love it when that happens, actually. It’s awful to know people who have read the books on your TBR and you just WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS and they dangle it over your head. πŸ˜›

      I’ve heard awesome stuff about Dorothy Must Die. In fact, it’s sitting on my Kindle right now. I should go read it. πŸ˜›

      Oh, well. TOOTHLESS.
      YES.
      P.S. No problem! πŸ˜€ I always love seeing your posts! And haha, take your time, I still have that Harry Potter tag from you from three months ago. πŸ™‚

      • Worse still: SPOILERS!

        I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been subject to these heinous, unspeakable beings. Terrible, terrible, things πŸ˜‰

  2. FAIREST. Yesyesyes.
    I’ve read The Hobbit, but I didn’t enjoy it *that* much. I do admire JRRT for all the magnificent worldbuilding in LOTR, but yeah…I never really got into them. My die-hard fan friends were not impressed!

    Ooh, thank you for tagging me πŸ™‚ (I SERIOUSLY need to do some of my tags. I’m sorry if there’s a bit *coughs* of a delay!)

    • I. CANNOT. WAIT.
      I don’t know I liked The Two Towers, Return of the King, and The Hobbit but the Fellowship of the Ring was just something I could never get into as much. *sighs* I mean, I saw the movie?

      (Haha, no problem at all! I was tagged in this one three months ago. Not days. Not weeks. Months.)

  3. Ha! This is gonna be an adventure for me.

    I like using my Kindle to read books, but when they’re not in front of my face, I tend to forget they exist, so I can’t do that too much. Plus, for the first time, I have this really cool shelf that needs filling. πŸ˜€

    Thanks for the tag! (I’ve also been neglecting lately, so it may be a while, but I’ll get around to it – promise. c;)

  4. Pingback: Book Tag: My Wondrously Never-Ending TBR | Nirvana's Pocketful·

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

