Books! And Candy! (Another Tag)

If you hadn’t caught on, I’m using finals as an excuse to finish up the bookish tags I’ve been, um, tagged in. I was tagged in this one by Engie @ Musings from Neville’s Navel. Enjoy! 😀

Apples

Ah, healthy food. It is deep, meaningful, and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

Um, first of all, I’d like to point out that I LOVE apples. So don’t go getting the wrong impression about me! But for this one I’d probably say any American literature ever. I prefer Shakespeare and Dickens and just about every English author over American ones. Even though I’m American. But if you want a specific book, I’d say To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I liked it, sure, but I found the middle largely boring, and though it had a strong ending, it didn’t really change my life the way everyone else says it’s supposed to.

Milk chocolate

This is the book that you’d recommend to absolutely EVERYONE.

Gracefully Grayson by Ami Polonsky! It’s really an awesome book, MG but works for older readers, and LGBTQ+, which is quite rare in MG books. I rambled about it quite a bit.

Black Jelly Beans

WHY DO THESE EXIST?!

Um, yeah. Can I choose several?

  1. The 100 and Day 21 by Kass Morgan
  2. Since You’ve Been Gone by Mary Jennifer Payne (no, not the one by Morgan Matson; that one I LOVED)
  3. Allegiant by Veronica Roth? Don’t kill me, but… yeah.

Chocolate Kisses

Aww, this book had the best romance.

I’m not really a huge fan of romance, but I DID enjoy Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. Partially because there’s really minimal romance in it, but the romance still sort of works? I don’t know. Just… just go read it.

Gummy Spiders

Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

I have about a 0% scary tolerance. When a book’s “scary” for me, it’s usually “meh” for most other people. I have never read horror books. I have never watched horror movies. I never plan to. So the book I’m choosing probably won’t be that scary.

It’s The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. Because of the creepish Aaron and ahhh stop.

Jumbo Lollipop

This took you forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Partially because it was so sad and I was crying just about every other page and yeah. It was really, really good. But I cried through about half of it. My edition is still wet. *wrings out book*

Cotton Candy

Admit it, you loved this when you were younger. (You probably still do.) Think: children’s or MG fiction.

Can I be cliché and say Harry Potter? Please? Because I just couldn’t get over this series for several years and I think I read nothing else but it for about half my life. And they’re still really nice comfort books when I get really stressed. And I know the plot so well that I can just put the books down wherever, because I practically have the next chapter memorized. I… do I need to go on? I think you get the picture.

AND NOW, SOME QUESTIONS FROM ENGIE…

What is your favorite candy?

Don’t kill me for it, but I’ve never been one for sweet things. When I was younger, I’d MUCH rather have some chips than chocolate. Of late, I’ve been getting a sweet tooth (probably a bad thing, because this is the first year of my life I’m not taking P.E. … but I digress), and I’d say Jolly Ranchers and Hershey’s are awesome. Along with any milk chocolate.

What’s the most delicious book you’ve read lately?

Ooh, probably Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson (thanks for the book recommendation, Engie! 😀 ). I read it. And then I read it again. And then I read it again. And then I realized I’d read it so many times that I practically had it memorized. And then I screamed. Still, it somehow lost half a star. *shrugs*

Oh, and here are my questions for you:

1. What is your favorite bookish snack? Do you snack while you read? (I do! I like chips, mostly. I also like drinks like tea, but it makes it hard to hold the book and flip the pages while not spilling. I’m a very clumsy person.)

2. What genre is to you as tea and cute puppies are to me? (For me it’s obviously tea and cute puppies! Oh, you mean book genre. Well, in that case YA sci-fi and YA contemporary, surprisingly. I’ve grown more and more out of YA fantasy. Shame.)

I tag…

Kate @ Ravings of a Dead Poet

Eternity @ Eternity’s Ramblings

Nirvana @ Nirvana’s Pocketful

YOU! I’m too lazy to link to any other blogs, so… here. Do this tag on your own blog!

2 responses to “Books! And Candy! (Another Tag)

  1. Aw Aaron was pretty creepy wasn’t he?
    To Kill a Mockingbird didn’t change my life either (but I love Lee’s storytelling style and cry every single time I read the book).
    Love the Candy Tag (it’s very fun!). This was awesome!

    • SO CREEPY OHMYGOSH.
      I don’t know, it was really a three-star book, but I upped the rating to 3.5 because (1) it’s a classic and (2) the ending was amazing. But I never cry while reading it or anything… I mean sure, it’s sad, but it doesn’t have much of an effect on me at all. I’m thinking of writing a short (or long) exploration post about WHY.
      It seriously is! I got really lazy in my tagging, but feel free to do it on your own blog! 😀 (Unless you were tagged by someone else, in which case my response is very awkward…) 😛

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

