Book Review | Broken Skies (GO. READ. IT.)

Happy Holidays and Merry Christmas to all of you who celebrate it! I was planning on writing a Christmas post, but, um, I have time management issues. And feels. So you get this wonderful book review (which you should TOTALLY buy yourself as a Christmas present… or rather a New Year’s present, since it releases in 2015, because IT. IS. AMAZING.)

20486404

Thirty years ago, civilization collapsed. Few survived. Ten years ago, the aliens arrived…and stayed. One year ago, I killed two men and went a little crazy. Today, the aliens took my brother and I will do anything to get him back.
In seventeen-year-old Jax Mitchell’s world, humans are nearly extinct and alien settlers have arrived. Until recently, the E’rikon have remained segregated in their city and ignored the few humans who have tried to engage them… but now they have taken Jax’s brother. To rescue him, she forms an uneasy alliance with a teenage E’rikon left stranded in the woods. She agrees to guide him to the city if he sneaks her past the human-proof barrier. Too bad it’s not that simple. (via Goodreads)

Source: Review copy provided by the ever-awesome Skyscape! 😀

I. AM. SOBBING.

GIF-cry-crying-Doctor-Who-sad-sob-sobbing-tears-Wilfred-Mott-GIF

No. NO NO NO NO NO. That GIF does not do justice to my feels right now. Just… No.

WHEN WILL THE NEXT BOOK BE OUT BECAUSE I NEED TO KNOW AND THIS IS MY NEW FAVORITE AND THAT CLIFFHANGER WAS NOT FUNNY, MISS KAY.

*sobs* Okay. Yes. I can talk now. Well, why is this now my new favorite book? What in the world, you say, could replace Harry Potter? (Okay, well, maybe not Harry Potter–you get what I mean.)

  • THE CHARACTERIZATION WAS THE MOST MAGNIFICENT THING IN THE WORLD AND– Oh, sorry. Am I shouting again? That was not intended. But LIR and JAX. And, okay, I didn’t like him much, but JACE.
  • Um, have I mentioned the beautiful cliffhanger at the end? And you know the type of cliffhanger that’s done just right that doesn’t make you super duper annoyed, but the makes-you-want-to-sob-with-all-the-feels type?
  • And sure there have been some instances of spotty characterization and whatnot and weird gaps in the worldbuilding, BUT I CAN OVERLOOK THOSE THINGS BECAUSE THE CHARACTERIZATION WAS BEAUTIFUL and I am dying because Fractured Suns won’t be out until 2015.

The Characterization

(Was. Awesome.)

Jax. Or “Jasmine,” if you want to use her full name. No offense to the Jasmines out there or whatever but if I was named Jasmine, I would totally shorten it to Jax. Who, by the way, is awesome. And uses ALL THE SARCASM. And has major problems, like panic attacks. And basically wonderful in every aspect. And now I’m going to stop before I just keep rambling. Oh, and she’s totally an awesome strong female character, too. (LOOK GUYS: a female character who doesn’t harbor a secret love of dresses!)

Lir. Okay. Well. You see. Everything was going just fine with this book, all fine and dandy and I had my feels COMPLETELY SORTED OUT… and then he happened and I don’t even know where to start. I will just tell you one thing: this guy makes the entire book worth reading. And I don’t often say that, but Lir was just so beautifully deep and complex and something that you really don’t get to see in YA literature a lot. ESPECIALLY in YA literature. There are lots of “bad boys with dark mysterious secrets” in YA, but how about we throw in someone actually, uh, nice for once? Noooo, that would be bad, said the authors. They were wrong.

Jace. I didn’t like him much, but, I mean, he’s Jax’s brother. So meh. But did I mention LIR AND JAX???

The Plot

(Was again, nothing short of fantabulous.)

I didn’t predict anything. Maybe it’s because I’m a horribly half-blind reader who refuses to turn the font size up on her Kindle, but everything. Shocked. Me. And in a good way. You know those books that are just go-go-go with no time for character building? Well, Broken Skies actually devotes a good amount of its 372 pages to character development. All of which I loved. And then all of which I hated at the end of the book. Thank you for my feels, Miss Kay. Thank you. *sobs*

863686

The One Problem I Have With This Book?

And honestly? It’s minor.

This book doesn’t pass the Bechdel Test. (Or whatever the Bechdel Test’s equivalent is in novels.) In order for something to pass the Bechdel Test it must (1) feature two women who (2) talk (3) about something other than a man. And the sad truth is that the majority of popular fiction doesn’t pass it. In Broken Skies, Jax is one of the few strong female characters around, and oppressed in a world surrounded by males. Women are rare, and therefore valued. They’re also supposed to be subordinate to men (something else that Jax hates; go Jax!), because there’s a shortage of them. Jax talks to her neighbor Emily about Lir, and then a little about pretty dresses, which doesn’t really count. And then to Vira (Lir’s mom)… again about Lir? Oh, and two lines about her possibly-impending-death threat. Which, you know, is nothing major. BUT I DIGRESS.

So basically, go read this book.

5/5 Wagging Tails

Wagging TailsWagging TailsWagging TailsWagging TailsWagging Tails

5 responses to “Book Review | Broken Skies (GO. READ. IT.)

  1. Oh wow. Now that’s what I call a review. Definitely interested in picking this one up.

    I know what you mean about the Bechdel test, though, and it really is sad how few movies/books pass even one of the requirements. It’s like… how hard is it to have two women discuss ANYTHING OTHER THAN DUDES?

    But anyway. Yeah. I’m gonna go check this one out.

    • Thanks! ❤ (Read this… and let it break your heart. *sob*)

      Yeah, since their society was male-dominated, it sort of made sense in this book, but I still thought it was worth pointing out. (I know, right? Like, um, trees? Or clothes, even. Like, anything!)

      Do! I hope you like it as much as I did and it doesn’t break your heart as much as it did mine!

  2. ❤ The Doctor Who gif just makes this even better! (And that episode *devastated* me. I'm talking ugly tears here.)

    • Thank you, Theresa! I’m so honored you liked my review. 😀 (Can it be? A favorite author of mine who likes Doctor Who? And ohmygoodness… that episode gave me nearly as many feels as Broken Skies did! I prefer to think that it never happened and Ten is doing fine and not crying and sad and alone as he regenerates, which is what really happens nope I don’t think about that at all. 😛 )

  3. Pingback: Interview + Giveaway | Theresa Kay, Author of Broken Skies | Books and Bark·

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

