5 Dalek-teble Doctor Who Episodes

It’s my first anniversary of being a Whovian! (My Who-versary?) Around this time in 2013, I started watching Doctor Who, and since then, I’ve, uh… watched all of the episodes. I’ve seen so many lists of “best Who episodes” around the Interwebs, but haven’t found myself agreeing with any of them. Like, I (*gasp*!) didn’t like Series 3’s “Human Nature/ The Family of Blood” at all. So here are my five DALEK-teble Doctor Who episodes! (By the way: the cover image of the post is actually the Doctor’s name in Gallifreyan, according to Google! How cool is THAT?)

1) Series 4, Episode 1: “Partners in Crime” (written by Russell T Davies)

How can you resist that cute little ball of fat? Could there be ANYTHING cuter?

I love the general plot line of this one, and I’ve always enjoyed how Donna and the Tenth Doctor play off of each other, which is probably why Series 4 is my favorite out of all eight (eight!) series. We also get to see Wilf and Donna’s mum… they always crack me up. And the ENDING of this episode! I can’t give it away, but… flowers.

2) Series 4, Episode 16: “The Waters of Mars” (written by Russell T Davies and Phil Ford)

Four words: SUCH. GREAT. CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT.

In one hour, we see the Doctor go from “The Doctor. Doctor. Fun” to “The laws of time are MINE and they will OBEY me!”, and it doesn’t feel rushed at all. In fact, the beginning is a bit… slow. I generally don’t enjoy the specials/companionless episodes, because one of my favorite aspects of the show is the character relationships and how they interact and joke around. I think the beauty of this episode is that we get to see what the Doctor becomes without a companion, when he is left to his own. Instead of the madman in the box who likes bowties and fishies and is easily distracted we see the man who fought in the Time War and (spoiler!) destroyed Gallifrey.

3) Series 4, Episodes 12 & 13: “The Stolen Earth/Journey’s End” (written by Russell T Davies)

woah_gif

EVERYBODY IS IN THIS ONE! (Noticing a trend here, guys?)

I have to admit my favorite companions are all from RTD’s era (RTD = Russell T Davies), who have beautiful arcs (of the “full-time companions,” my order would be Donna, then Martha, then Rose), and it’s great that we get to say goodbye to them along with the Tenth incarnation of the Doctor. It really shows who the Doctor is WITH his companions, as opposed to “The Waters of Mars,” and the sharp contrast is wonderful (admittedly, I’d want to befriend the Doctor WITH companions, not the Doctor WITHOUT them… the Doctor without them is just mean). Also, another plus: we get to see all the Mums! In Series 1-4, the Mums play a huge role, and it’s nice to see them contrasted: Jackie, Martha’s mum, and Donna’s mum. (Don’t tell them, guys, but Jackie’s still my favorite… and the only one to be named. 😛 )

4) Series 4, Episodes 4 & 5: “The Sontaran Stratagem/The Poison Sky” (written by Helen Raynor)

tumblr_med5nzuwNL1r6mjlmo1_500

Well, yes, Wilf. Yes indeed.

I loved Martha, but I didn’t like Series 3 much, mainly because I didn’t enjoy the storylines as much as I did Series 4’s. She totally got to make up for that here. The science is a bit… er,… sketchy, to put it lightly, but still–an enjoyable and well-plotted episode.

5) Series 4, Episodes 8 & 9: “Silence in the Library/Forest of the Dead” (written by Steven Moffat)

River’s first episode! How could we overlook that? I really do think Steven Moffat can write really good episodes, but his work has definitely been on the decline this past three seasons season, which makes me sad. I mean, I really really liked a lot of his episodes, even in Series 5, but Series 6, 7, and 8 especially fell quite flat to me.

Honorable Mentions

Well… I seem to have chosen everything from Series 4… Oops? Honorable mentions include “Father’s Day,” “The Empty Child/The Doctor Dances,” “The Eleventh Hour,” “Vincent and the Doctor,” and “The Lodger.” Oh, and I also really like the Doctor’s speech from “The Rings of Akhaetan”… not so much the rest of the episode? PLUS “The Army of Ghosts/Doomsday” always makes me cry. Oh, and don’t even get me started on both parts of “The End of Time” *bawls miserably*

Those are MY favorite Doctor Who episodes! What are yours?

7 responses to “5 Dalek-teble Doctor Who Episodes

  1. I definitely agree with numbers 2 and 5- they’re some of my favorites as well! I also really like “Don’t Blink” and… well, anything with David Tennant in it, basically! I agree, the earlier seasons are better than the newer ones, although I have been enjoying the twelfth doctor more than I originally thought I would. Anyways, happy Whoversary! 🙂

    • Number two has possibly THE most amazing character development EVER done in a TV show, like, EVER. It’s just that amazing. But what can I say? It’s RTD, after all. Anything is possible. 😛 Yep, yep, yep! I totally think Peter Capaldi has done an amazing job playing the Twelfth Doctor. It’s certainly quite different when an actor is playing his dream role. I think that’s what makes both Tennant’s and Capaldi’s Doctors so amazing. (Though I have to say: Ten is far more amazing than Twelve. Sorry, Peter!) 😛

  2. Those are all great episodes! Some of my favorites that you’ve left out are Don’t Blink, The Girl Who Waited, A Good Man Goes to War, The Wedding of River Song,The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang.

    • I definitely think they are! 😀 A lot of people don’t like “Partners in Crime,” which saddens me because it’s one of my very favorite episodes! Ooh, I DID like “Blink,” and “The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang” because they were ever so amazing! I can’t believe I didn’t even MENTION them on the list! *gasps at this terrible injustice* I liked “A Good Man Goes to War” and “The Wedding of River Song,” too, just not enough for it to be one of my favorites. As for “The Girl Who Waited”… well, Amy is definitely NOT one of my favorite companions (I know, I know), but the episode showed quite a lot of character development for Moffat’s later seasons, which was good. 🙂

  3. My favorite episode is The God Complex, with the eleventh doctor and Amy. That episode just gets to me, and I don’t know why.

    • Oh yes I’ve seen that one! For some reason, I’ve never liked Amy or the 11th Doctor. Maybe it’s because Donna and the 10th Doctor were my favorite pair? Maybe their greatness in my eyes never let Amy and 11 live up to their full potential. My personal favorite will forever be “Partners in Crime.”

      • I don’t particularly like Amy either, and the 11th Doctor is all right. I don’t really have favorites; for me it’s trying to pick your favorite type of ice cream – impossible.

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

