GIVEAWAY + Lots of Things Happened This Month

Well, one item on my bucket list has been achieved. Sort of. (Also, before I begin: thank you guys so much for all the love for my feminism post

#1: AP European History is a Rather Fun Class

Maps are useful in history.

Maps are useful in history.

At the beginning of this year, I said I’d try to put school before blogging, which is something I didn’t used to do. And it happened! Which is why I’ve been absent for the past half year. I’m taking AP European History, which has been 40-something weeks of fun, and I’m not joking about it. But the AP test is coming up, so that means that I’ve got to read a textbook in under three weeks, which means that I might not be blogging so much until the second week of May. And you know what I’ve realized? THAT IS OKAY. We all get busy sometimes, and while running this blog is one of my favorite hobbies in the world, it’s got to come after school.

#2: Camp NaNoWriMo? Oh, yeah, I have the most awesome cabin mates ever. + BOOKS.

unnamed

Which is basically true. (Seriously; dunelleth, Selene, and Kate are amazing). But I’ve decided that I don’t really need NaNoWriMo anymore. Before it was essential to my writing process, to get me to write that novel, and now… not so much. I’ve realized that if that novels wants to come out of me, it’s coming out, no matter how many words I write in a month.

Plus, this gives me wayyy more time to read. Since I last blogged, I’ve read Strays by Jennifer Caloyeras, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone (soooo good!), Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson, The Eighth Day by Diane K. Salerni (best MG I’ve read in a while), The Clouded Sky by Megan Crewe, and Antigone by Sophocles. (Currently I’m reading Twenty Years After by Alexandre Dumas, All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Marquez [until a spider crawled out of it], and As You Like It by William Shakespeare).

#3: I Have Adopted a Plant

T-minus three weeks to AP European History exams. Giving me things to name is not a good idea.

His (or her) name is Arnold Richelieu Schwarzenegger. I’m not quite sure what gender plants have (or how to tell, for that matter), but since I chose all male names (thank you Spielvogel’s Western Civilization!), I’ll be referring to Arnold as a him. He’s a succulent, which is good, because I often forget to water things.

#4: URL CHAAAANGE

Fangirl by Rainbow RowellAs they say on Tumblr. I have now changed my Tumblr URL from sabrinawolfheart to redqueenofbookland, which is a reference to many of my favorite things. Apparently Macbeth was a real king of Scotland in the 1100s, known as “the Red King.” Lady Macbeth, Macbeth’s crazy wife, is my favorite character from Shakespeare’s plays, and so it turned into the Red Queen, because she is, you know, female. And Bookland is a reference to books (duh) which I love, and also Scotland, because the red queen could also be from Alice in Wonderland.

#5: I’m A Photographer Now!

"I I can’t forget my sister! ❤

That’s right. I’ve now gotten an Instagram. Well, technically this happened a while back, but I thought I should throw it in here. You can find me @booksandbarker, because I enjoy shamelessly promoting myself.

#6: I Have a Fantabulous Book I Can Now Share With You

straysJennifer Caloyeras was so kind as to send me an ARC of her book, Strays. Unfortunately, I have been sworn to secrecy until the release date, so I cannot tell you my thoughts just yet, but you can win a copy so you can think up your own!

It’s not even listed on Goodreads yet, so here’s the synopsis from the back cover:

When a note in sixteen-year-old Iris Moody’s journal is mistaken as a death threat against her English teacher, she finds herself in trouble not only with school authorities but with the law. In addition to summer school, dog-phobic Iris is sentenced to an entire summer of community service, rehabilitating troubled dogs. Iris believes she is nothing like Roman, the three-legged pit bull who is struggling to overcome his own dark past. But when Roman’s life is on the line, Iris learns that counting on the help of others may be the only way to save him.

>>GO GO GO WIN A COPY OF STRAYS!<<

(you will have to click on the link because Rafflecopter and WordPress.com do not like each other)

6 responses to “GIVEAWAY + Lots of Things Happened This Month

  1. Pingback: Friday Finds: Week 30 | Avid Reader·

  2. Pingback: New Blog Design // Where I’ve Been All May + Half of June | Books and Bark·

    • Haha, thank you! 😀 I’m actually not all that productive right now (unless sitting on the couch and not-writing a blog post and barely-replying to comments and binging TV count?). During the school year I really do try, though, which I’m not doing right now. 😛

  3. European History IS fun! I had six units of European History (and subsequently world history) when I was a sophomore in uni and it was so much fun learning all about it. It’s just a mesh of so many different cultures and it was interesting to see how people back then interacted (conquests and wars among many others haha).

    Glad to see you so productive! 🙂

    Faye at The Social Potato

    • YES. (Also, I’M IN LOVE your blog’s name. I, too, am a potato.)

      Okay, I’m not religious (and even if I was I wouldn’t be Catholic/Christian because my family is historically Indian), so this may sound weird, but: I am CRAZY about the wars of religion. Like, every single one. I LOVED. And the French Revolution. So much so that I have trouble forming full sentences when I speak about them. I recently read The Three Musketeers (Dumas) and am reading Twenty Years After (Dumas) and A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens) because they feature the French Revolution. I am oddly obsessed with it. So yes. AP European nut/potatoes rock. *high-fives oddly from a distance because I am an awkward potato*

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

