Top Ten Tuesday // Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

toptentuesday

So, YES: I am finally hopping onto this bandwagon and participating in Top Ten Tuesday(Mostly because I have NO IDEA what else to write about and every other blogger I know does this!) This week’s prompt is “top ten hyped books I’ve never read.”

So, I don’t read that many hyped books.

This is mostly because of my lack of money and expired library card, but call me crazy if I can’t afford to spend $20 on a new hardback book. I mean, I can barely afford e-books!

help me i'm poor

Sometimes, this is also due to the fact that I am a sad and lonely hermit and oddly find many hyped things unenjoyable. (This may be a side effect of me being completely out of touch with the outside world. Like, did you know they have computers whose screens you can TOUCH now?!)

tumblr_mm5wk8R0FC1r5xzspo1_500

ANYHOW, I am half-rambling here. LET US BEGIN THE LISTING. (But be forewarned: I was forced to pick only ten, but there are MANY books I have not yet read.)

1) Like half of JOHN GREEN’S BOOKS

IMG_3105

NOTE: I stole the idea of taking pictures of the book covers on my phone from Cait @ Paper Fury. The images are mine, BUT THE IDEA IS NOT!

I haven’t yet read Looking for Alaska or An Abundance of Katherines, and I don’t intend to read either! I read Paper Towns and The Fault in Our Stars and I didn’t… like them very much? Don’t get me wrong, I love John Green as a person (especially his Crash Course videos), but his books aren’t so much for me.

2) ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES by Jennifer Niven (… not yet)

download

OKAY I CONFESS. I just bought this one. It was on sale as an e-book for $3 and I just… couldn’t… resist… SHINY.

3) WE WERE LIARS by E. Lockhart

download (1)

This won the Goodreads Choice 2014 award, and yet… I haven’t read it. I guess I just don’t feel compelled to? I’ve read the excerpts, and although the narration style is INCREDIBLY BEAUTIFUL… I actually haven’t heard a lot of good things about it? So maybe it can wait.

WELCOME TO THE beautiful Sinclair family.
No one is a criminal.
No one is an addict.
No one is a failure.
The Sinclairs are athletic, tall, and handsome. We are old-money Democrats. Our smiles are wide, our chins square, our tennis serves aggresive.
It doesn’t matter if divorce shreds the muscles of our hearts so that they will hardly beat without a struggle. It doesn’t matter if trust-fund money is running out; if credit-card bills go unpaid on the kitchen counter. It doesn’t matter if there’s a cluster of pill bottles on the bedside table.
It doesn’t matter if one of us is desperately, desperately in love.
So much
in love
that equally desperate measures
must be taken.
We are Sinclairs.
No one is needy.
No one is wrong.

4) IF I STAY by Gayle Forman

download (2)

I wanted to read this one for a while, but… eh? Again, this’ll wait.

5) ELEANOR AND PARK by Rainbow Rowell

download (3)

I LOVED Fangirl. A lot. But I think Eleanor and Park is more romance-y than Fangirl, and I’m not a big fan of romance. A lot of people have recommended it to me, but I don’t think I’m going to be getting around to reading it anytime soon.

6) THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER by Stephen Chbosky

download (4)

This is CLASSIC YA contemporary, so I should have read it. It combines two of my favorite genres: classics and YA. But alas, due to its unflinching popularity, the price has not yet gone down and I have not yet been able to reasonably afford it within the $16.03 I have left in Amazon gift cards.

7) RED QUEEN by Victoria Aveyard

IMG_3139

It’s exceedingly odd I haven’t read this yet, because my Tumblr URL is redqueenofbookland. I frequently get people asking me if my URL is based on the book. (It’s not. It’s a reference to Lady Macbeth.)

8) GONE GIRL by Gillian Flynn

IMG_3150

This is another Goodreads Choice Award Winner. My friend gave this to me for my birthday WAYYYYY back in October (… that was actually a pretty long time ago now), and told me to read it because it’s amazing. Yes, I do have the best friends ever. Well, um, I don’t really read that many adult books? And there are so many other pretties sitting in my TBR stack. But I WILL get around to this one someday. Maybe just not… today.

9) DANGEROUS GIRLS by Abigail Haas

download (5)

I’ve also heard great things about this one from Cait @ Paper Fury and Emily @ Loony Literate, although it’s not so much hyped, I guess. But it was on a display of recommended books at Barnes & Noble, so it counts. Plus, I’ve heard it compared to Gone Girl, but for teens (of which I am one), AND it has a trial in it, so that makes me kind of excited.

10) THE RAVEN BOYS by Maggie Stiefvater

download (6)

DON’T MURDER ME. I love Maggie Stiefvater. I really do. But I’ve just… never… read any of her writing? BUT HER INSTAGRAM IS A FABULOUS THING. FABULOUS.

Are these books really worth all the hype? Which one should I blow my book-buying budget for the summer on? ALSO, did you like my bookish photography?

26 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday // Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. If you’re fine with reading e-books, there’s a site called Tuebl you can use that lets you download them for free. It has a library-like philosophy, there’s buttons where you can donate directly to the author and authors/publishing companies can remove the books easily if they want to. I’ve saved so much money and read so many books I wouldn’t have normally bought or read. 🙂

    • Ooh, that’s so cool, thanks! 😀
      I checked it out just now and it would be really great for reading if my mother let me borrow her tablet. 🙂 I have a Kindle, though, and I couldn’t find any MOBI files. Do you know if they have any Kindle editions?

      • I’m not sure, you could try downloading the EPUB and find an online converter? I know there’s free ones online that convert EPUB to PDF, there should be something that converts EPUB to the kindle files around 🙂

        • Hm, that sounds like it might work. I actually have Calibre, which converts PDFs to Kindle MOBIs, so I’ll see if it works for EPUBs, too. Thanks for the idea! 😀

  2. Dude, I found Perks of Being a Wallflower in paperback on Amazon for like 7 bucks! I actually ordered it just last night so it should be coming super soon and if you want you can borrow it 🙂

    • *HUGS YOU AGGRESSIVELY* I will love anyone who offers to feed my bookish obsessions. In return, I shall offer to feed yours.
      BUT SERIOUSLY, I HAVEN’T SEEN YOU ALL SUMMER. We just need to go to the bookstore one day and read stuff.

  3. DUDE. HOW CAN YOU LOVE MAGGIE STIEFVATER AND NOT READ HER BOOKS? WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR LIFE. GOOO GOOOO!! READ ALL HER THINGS. *hyperventilates because this is my favourite author of ever* Seriously, ALL her books are incredible, afjdklsaf and yes yes to Dangerous Girls also. Though that book terrified me. I AM STILL HAVING TROUBLE WTIH IT, OKAY? It’s got one of those endings where you’re all like…wait…no. And it’s so perfect. *giggles like a psychopath* AHEM.

    Also yay for photos!! 😉

    • I HAVE NO IDEA BUT WITH THE AWESOMENESS OF MAGGIE STEIFVATER, THIS IS APPARENTLY POSSIBLE. I mean have you seen her art?!?!? Like, HOW EVEN?? And I need to read so many books. Like I am physically in danger of my TBR pile crushing me if my dog wags her tail too hard. *hyperventilates a little in response because one of my favorite bloggers of ever has commented on my post*

      Taking photographs of book covers on phones is genius. You have a brilliant mind. BRILLIANT, I say.

  4. These photos are BEAUTIFUL! *swoons* Mine are always so blurry, haha.
    I read We Were Liars because it all seemed so mysterious – it’s not one of my favourites, but it’s a pretty unique read. I’ve got to admit that I’ve also not particularly loved All The Bright Places, If I Stay or Perks… *laughs awkwardly* But Dangerous Girls The Raven Boys are fabulous. 🙂 TRC is definitely the Stiefvater to go for, in my opinion! I didn’t like Shiver series (argghh I’ve forgotten the name) all that much.
    John Green’s books themselves aren’t my favourites, but he seems like a cool person.

    • I think it has to do with my camera. It has auto-focus and I took each photo like 10 times… which COULD be why it took so long for them to upload.
      I JUST NEED TO READ THAT BOOK. Everyone says something different about it. Ah, well. I’m not a TFiOS fan, but I haven’t heard a single bad thing about All The Bright Places, sooooo…. *shrugs* I might as well try it. Yeah, I was going to buy If I Stay just because of all the hype, but my friend talked me out of it. And Perks… I think I just need to read it because HERMOINE–ahem, Emma Watson— is in the movie. AND GOSH TRC has been recommended to me by literally EVERYBODY and thus my TBR pile grows ever-larger.
      I love John Green’s Crash Course videos, and I love his blog. I don’t like his books. I mean, they’re not my least favorites of ever, but then again, they’re not my favorites.

      • Oooh yes, I’m lazy and tend to just take them with an ipad, so that’s probably it. 😛
        I have noticed that! Yep, loads of people love ATBP so I’m thinking of giving it another shot – I don’t mean to put you off!
        I HAVEN’T SEEN THE MOVIE and I so desperately want to eep! (Especially since Emma Watson is in it.) That (and pretty edits, haha) was pretty much how I got to read TRC.

        • Hm, maybe. Especially if it’s an older iPad, I’d expect the focus wouldn’t be as good. I know with the newer iPads/iPhones, it’s really really good. 🙂
          I’m reading it now and while I like the underlying storyline I’m just… not… very… compelled? I don’t know. It might just be me, I wasn’t a fan of The Knife of Never Letting Go either, and everybody loved that. Maybe it’s the narration style??
          I KNOW, EMMA WATSON IS AMAZING. And GAH so many people telling me to read TRC! I love Maggie Stiefvater, she is practically the definition of amazing (seriously, look it up in a dictionary, her name is there in an example… there and in “creativity”). But I don’t know if paranormal is my thing, and I tend to get easily scared of such things, soooo… GAH, I think, is the word I am looking for. 😛

          • Yeah, it is a but older.
            Ohh yes, I had to put down The Knife of Never because the narration style annoyed me so much. I’ve read it again since & liked it, but I don’t think it’s for everyone. (I hope ATBP picks up for you anyway!)
            Maggie Stiefvater & Emma Watson are both amaziiing eek. 🙂

  5. I haven’t read any of those books. Actually I read We were Liars – well, tried to, anyway. Didn’t get very far before I DNF’d it. I stay far away from overhyped books. But I do wanna read The Raven Boys – just to see.

    The pictures were very nice. It’s a great idea, borrowed or not.

    And hey! I don’t do T5W! So not every blogger does it. 😛

    • GAH YOU ARE THE THIRD PERSON TO MENTION THIS BOOK AND OMG I AM SO CONFUSED.
      Thank you! 🙂
      CORRECTION: Almost every blogger I follow does it. Apparently I’ve been out of English class for too long. 😛

  6. Eleanor & Park was enjoyable, but Fangirl was more special to me. E&P ha a bit more familial drama that is painful and sad. Gone Girl was good, but the movie is just as good so watch it! 😀

    • Fangirl really resonated with me, because it’s about a nerdy girl who has trouble being socially not-terrified and gets over it anyway. I don’t really like romance, so E&P just might not be my style. EVERYONE KEEPS SAYING THAT. I barely know her, but I even got that out of my AP Psych teacher for next year! 😀

  7. First, I love the photos…and may have to try that avenue and give credit to the creative person who figured this out!
    I have read some of these and I did like Eleanor and Parks but yes, they are all hyped up. I hated Gone Girl, didn’t like Raven Boys and when I say this to the people who rec them, they look at me like I am nuts. Perks I read because I heard it was a movie with Emma Watson and I wanted to see what it was about before I saw the movie. The book was pretty good but I think I read it before it was being “hyped”!

    I did recently read “The Storied Life of AJ Fikry” which seems like it could be one of these hyped books and it was different but just “ok”.
    What is your favorite book that you rec to people whenever they ask for on?

    http://www.heathermccubbin@blogspot.com

    • Thanks! I LOVE Cait’s blog, and her photography is BREATHTAKING.
      I don’t think I’m going to sample E&P simply because I’m not a fan of romance and I love Fangirl (also by Rowell) so much. My friend literally bought Gone Girl for me and told me to READ IT so I think I will anyway. I’m not exactly an adult-book person; I tend to jump straight from YA to classics, so we’ll see. Wow… you’re the first person I’ve ever spoken to who doesn’t like TRC. And, well… since Perks is a classic, I might as well read it. *shrugs*
      Hm, I’ll check it out when I regain some of my lost dignity because I bought so many books recently. Quite honestly, I don’t know what I’d rec. YA? Probably Since You’ve been Gone by Morgan Matson. Classics? Great Expectations or The Three Musketeers. Shakespeare? Macbeth. Sci-fi? Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. If you’re totally out of touch with the world and haven’t heard of any books yet? Harry Potter. I don’t read a lot of hyped, popular books, so sometimes it’s hard for me to recommend books to people. I have found I haven’t liked a lot of hyped books, so *shrugs*. I might just be more of a classics person. We’ll see. 🙂

  8. The only ones on your list I’ve read are GONE GIRL, which I really did enjoy, and WE WERE LIARS, which I enjoyed while reading and then afterward questioned some plot holes.

    Thank heavens there’s somebody else in this world who did not like THE FAULT IN OUR STARS. It’s probably not accurate to say I didn’t like it because I never got past Chapter 1 where the boy with one eye found out he would have to lose it, too. That was the point where I closed my Kindle sample and deleted it from my device. The fault is not in our stars or in John Green’s writing — it’s in my inability, as a mother, to read about kids with cancer.

    I also sampled THE RAVEN BOYS. I didn’t dislike it. It’s just that after I finished the Kindle sample, I never really thought about it again. Nothing compelled me to buy the book.

    Ultimately — there are A LOT of books out there to read. I can’t read all of them, and very often my tastes are not the same as “most people.” I’m sure that for every book on that list you didn’t read, there’s a less famous one you did read and enjoy. Hurray for reading off the beaten track!

    You should renew your library card though. Libraries are cool.

    • I think I’m just going to have to read all of these, to be honest, except the John Greens and IF I STAY.

      I don’t know. I don’t tend to cry/feel sad a lot at books, so when I first read it, I found it terrifyingly amazing because it made me sad. But upon a reread, when I knew what would happen and the emotions weren’t a surprise, it was just so-so and really I found most of the characters pretentious. I know for Augustus it’s supposed to be a character flaw, but for Hazel… Hazel isn’t SUPPOSED to be pretentious, according to John Green.

      Hm, I see that. I sampled it, too, and while the writing was good, I am terrified of the paranormal, so THAT kind of got me. 😛

      I’m a pro at that, ha ha. Half the books I’m supposed to like I haven’t, and most of my favorites are books no one’s even heard of (much to my sadness).

      I want to, but they’re expensive! (Well, actually, only $5, but according to my non-earning high school wallet, that’s a lot.) Plus, all the good books at my library are always checked out. 😛

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

