I Don’t Feel Like NaNoWriMo

72d10-tumblr_static_tumblr_maoaubjog61re1a3so1_500

To whom it may concern, NaNoWriMo-wise:

About a month ago, do you remember me saying that I might not be doing NaNoWriMo this year but it’s still subject to change? Well, it’s not exactly been changing.

One month later, I still don’t feel like NaNoWriMo. Or blogging too much, for that matter (school). So I have come up with a simple solution: don’t do NaNoWriMo and try to blog. I know. I know. It’s really not the best solution, maybe. But have I ever been able to write a novel in a month? No. I’ve been able to write 50k, but I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, fifty thousand words does not a novel make.

It’s not like I have idea-block. I could sit down and crank out fifty pages right now, if I wanted to (but I won’t because school). But… I just don’t want to. NaNoWriMo isn’t a motivator for me any more. It’s not an inspiration. It’s barely even a community as more and more people decide they don’t want to do it or they don’t have time or November is a busy month for them. November’s a busy month for me. For the past five years, it’s been one of the best months of the year, and I owe that to NaNoWriMo.

So wholeheartedly, thank you, to all the ML’s and VP’s and IT’s (yes I just made those last two up, but it’s what writers do) for making NaNoWriMo a possibility. Thank you for opening up my writing horizons and unlocking new doors. Thank you for all the advice and for telling me not to be cliché and for always sending me encouraging notifications and little memos about teen writers who got published.Thank you for the chocolate addiction. Thank you for letting me be on your blog that one time. Thank you for the two novels I’ve written and which now, in true NaNoWriMo-draft style, remain locked away in one of my drawers. Thank you for the best writing buddies I could have ever asked for.

NaNoWriMo, thank you for everything. But I still think it’s time for me to leave.

I’ll keep you in my novel-writing thoughts.

Sans plot bunnies,
SABRINA
10 responses to “I Don’t Feel Like NaNoWriMo

  1. I’ve been feeling a similar way lately. Right now I’m in my first semester of college and I just can’t see myself juggling NaNoWriMo with all of the other things I have going on! It’s a shame because I would really love to do it, but I just don’t think it will be possible this year!

    • I don’t know if NaNoWriMo would even work for me anymore. I have never been able to write a novel in a month and it’s not very exciting for me when most of my blogging buddies/IRL friends who usually participate aren’t doing NaNoWriMo either.

  2. I’ve done NaNo quite a few times, but I’ve only finished it once. It works for me (at least for the first week or so) to get me working on a project that I usually finish about six months later. However I also skipped it completely in favor of schoolwork for a few years when I was in college. Sometimes schoolwork and other things have to take priority. Good luck with school and blogging! 🙂

    • Yes, I’ve done NaNoWriMo multiple times and won YWP multiple times, but only gotten the full 50K once. School is definitely taking priority over blogging and writing this year.

  3. Pingback: Bookish Barkings // Bookish Birthdays and Odd Music | Books and Bark·

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

