A Bookish 2015 in Review

I read a total of 58 books and 18,617 pages in 2015.

That’s an amazingly large number of books, considering I had my first AP class and AP test at the start of 2015, a full-time internship at a farm over the summer, and 5 AP classes and an honors class starting in August, plus volunteering and SAT prep. So to wrap up my bookish year, I decided to look at my reading year as a whole.

Favorites & Not-So-Favorites

My favorite by far was probably The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas or The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater, and my least favorite was easily We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach (contrary to popular opinion about it, it seems).

Averages

My average rating was 3.86 stars, as compared to the average Goodreads rating of 4.04 stars, which means my average rating was 0.7 stars off from the average Goodreads rating on average.

I read the most from Sarah J. Maas (5 books), Douglas Adams (4 books), J.K. Rowling (4 books), Maggie Stiefvater (3 books), and Morgan Matson (3 books).

Breakdown of Books Read By Genre

image

So I was surprised that I read the most Science Fiction (21.8%) this year, followed by Fantasy (18.2%), especially because it felt like I mostly read Contemporary (14.5%) novels! I have to admit that I really loved the Philosophy (1.8%) that I read this year in my English class, and unfortunately I can’t mark Descartes’ Mediations as books read on Goodreads, or there would have been more. Also, I want to see myself reading more Classics in 2016. I really really love Classics, but I do need to make more time to read them!

Breakdown of Books Read By Rating

image (1)

So I was really really happy that I didn’t have any 1-star ratings this year! Yay for me! But at the same time, I feel like I wasn’t critical enough in giving my star ratings (like I felt like the book had to be at least 2.5 stars because I paid good money for it), so the 21.8% of 5-star ratings seems a bit large. I think some of those books at least should have been 4.5 star ratings, and I definitely should have had more than 10.9% 4.5-stars.

Breakdown of Books Read By Reading Level

image (2)

Okay, so, um. 32.8% adult books was disappointing. I’ve always been an above-reading-level reader, and while I’m not saying anything to discredit young adult books (which made up 62.1% of my books this year), many of them are a lot below what my reading level probably should be. And while I definitely am not giving up reading YA anytime soon, I’ve found that many of my favorites this year (The Three Musketeers and Jurassic Park) were adult books, and I definitely need more of those.

Breakdown of Books Read By Character/Author Gender

I was really surprised to find that I’d read a lot of books (nearly 70%!) by only-female authors this year. While I really do love supporting my female authors, I do think I want to try harder to read more male authors in 2016, especially seeing as I’m female and so already have a lot of experience from a female perspective. A lot of my favorite books this year came from male authors, too; off the top of my head, I really enjoyed Jurassic Park (Michael Crichton) and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Series (Douglas Adams). (That’s not to discredit female authors, though. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, which I read a ton of this year!) I’m glad that my character gender was a bit closer, though. I also want to try to read more books with male characters (maybe make it 50-50 next year), because I want to see the world through a male perspective as part of my research on how-to-write-realistic-male-characters.

Overall, 2015 was a great bookish year for me, considering everything else I’ve done. OH and I made my mother very confused by willingly applying statistics to my bookish habitudes. Speaking of statistics, how were your reading stats in 2015? What were your favorite books? (No least favorite books because POSITIVITY going into 2016, people!) ALSO, if you’re a statistical nerd like me, you can look at my entire glorious spreadsheet of all the books I read in 2015 by clicking here.
2 responses to “A Bookish 2015 in Review

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

