The End of Brilliant 2-0-1-5

It’s kind of hard to believe that 2015 will be over in just a few short hours.

It feels like the kind of year that should have lasted longer, that should have a couple more months left in it. It doesn’t, and it’s over, and that’s that. It’s a weird feeling.

Somehow, it feels like I have some years I cling on to and some years I don’t. I don’t really remember clinging to 2014 that much, for some reason. It was a good year, but it was an average year. Yes, I’d had some success, but it was nothing huge, fantastic, out-of-the-ordinary, awesome, brilliant. 2015 is a different story.

In February I played in Carnegie Hall. In May I took my first AP test. In June I interned on a farm. In July I woke up for the first time at 5 am to find my AP scores. In August I became a junior in high school. In October I took the PSAT. In October I turned 16. In November I didn’t do NaNoWriMo. In December I faced the most challenging finals week of my life.

So yes. 2015 has been an eventful year. It certainly hasn’t been the best year for the blog here, but I think I can live with that, considering how wonderful my academics and extracurriculars have been. I didn’t read much, either (only 58 books compared to my last year’s high-60-something). But all in all, I think it’s been a fantastic year.

***

Posts You Loved

I wrote 46 posts in 2015, but I have to say The Funny Thing About Feminism was definitely one of my favorites to write, as well as Why Sherlock Holmes and I Need Platonic Relationships // A List. Also, some of these are kind of rant-y, but apparently you liked them??

Also, I Apparently Now Have a Tumblr Legacy

Screen Shot 2015-12-30 at 11.48.45 PM

I posted this Richard Price quote on April 30, 2015, and apparently people liked it. But apparently (even though it’s not mine) this is going to be my Tumblr legacy. Oops?

And, uh, that’s it, I guess. I don’t really have a lot to say to myself, me in the future (which is quintessentially 2016). Oh! I almost forgot. Your yearly bucket list. Here it is.

The Obligatory 2016 Bucket List

  1. Study.
  2. Manage time.
  3. Review some books. But not a lot of them.
  4. Sell some stuff on your Redbubble shop!
  5. Read King Lear. Seriously, Shakespeare.
  6. Write another novel or at least start one.
  7. Play clarinet.
  8. Finish donating your voice with Vocalid.
  9. Read at least two books of the Harry Potter series in French.
  10. Re-read The CyberWorld.
  11. Keep Arnold Richelieu Schwarzenegger alive.
  12. Move to Canada if Donald Trump is elected President. If he’s not, we live in a sane universe.
  13. Become more politically aware (culture!).
  14. Do something bad. (Again, I tell you, not illegal: BAD. Like reading underneath the covers with a penlight.)
  15. Re-read Macbeth.
  16. Pits4PEACE.

As always, you can check out my 2015 bucket list here (I didn’t cross off all the items this year, sadly), and I’m publishing my 2016 bucket list as a page for your infinitesimal convenience.

Oh, and 2016? I have a message for you from Past-Me (as of January 30th, 2015).

tumblr_m2ncqjv6xB1qkex58

5 responses to “The End of Brilliant 2-0-1-5

  1. I really like the fresh possibility that is always available in the beginning of a new year. I have made my own resolutions, and I wish you all the luck in completing yours.

  2. omg you are officially Tumblr famous. Congrats 😄 And yes, I think 2015 was fantastic as well – I’m hoping to be able to actually read something in Urdu, because living in a country where Urdu is the national language, I’m more English in that aspect. I want to be more politically aware to an extent as well. And woahh, congratulations on playing in Carnegie Hall ❤ Sounds like you had an eventful year, hopefully this one will be just as great 🙂

    • Lol, thanks! Oh, that’s really cool! I can’t speak any Sanskrit-based languages, despite being descended from a long line of Indians. My second language is le belle langue de la français, and I’m reading my first full-length novel in it (Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone) this year, which is super cool. I definitely DEFINITELY recommend reading HP in a different language, lol, probably because it’s a pretty easy book. Yeah, political awareness is a survival skill in the era of the Evil Donald Trump. *shivers* Thank you!

      • Urdu is based off Persian, since it’s a more “Muslim” than “Hindu” language. I hope you get around to learning one, because that would be realy cool, tbh 🙂 OH I SHOULD PROBABLY READ HP IN URDU. Since I need to get better at it badly (read: part of the examinations which decide the course of my life).

        For once, I am glad that I live on the opposite side of the world. hA. Even though I more than often hate on the messed up politics of our own country. And anytime ❤

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

