A Cheesy Post Of Things To Remember In High School

mini book reviews

Written April 5, 2016. Proceed with caution: cheesy post ahead.

I’m graduating in a year. Which is absolutely ridiculously crazy, because I am 99.8% sure that I just entered high school about three weeks ago.

1

Do. Your. Homework. I have a lot of friends in high school who say, “I don’t do my homework, I just get As on tests!”, but if that’s true, then one of two things is also true: (1) they are geniuses and emotional gods who do not ever get flustered or stressed out or (2) homework would have accounted for about 1% of their grade anyway. I’ve found that doing your homework reduces text anxiety a lot because it gives you something to fall back on if you accidentally bomb your test.

2

Listen to your upperclassmen’s advice. As a young little freshman, and as a sophomore, and as an unwitting first-day-of-school-junior, I did not heed my upperclassmen friends’ advice, and took some classes that were (1) ill-advised to be taken together and (2) have a lot of work that you might not necessarily want to deal with junior year. LISTEN TO YOUR UPPERCLASSMEN FRIENDS. And I’m not just saying this because I know that upperclassmen like to lord over small underclassmen even though said upperclassmen may be no larger than 5’1″.

3

Have fun. I know high school is portrayed as a fun thing in High School Musical and all of those other ridiculous movies that I’ve only seen once, but it’s frequently become known only as a gateway to college. There have been times where my friends and I literally could not see each other because we were so busy trying to keep our grades up and finishing our homework before our extracurriculars. Have some fun and spend some time with your friends. They can be really amazing people.

4

Do classes that you love. I have frequently found that the classes I have done best in have been classes that I have looked forward to coming to every single day, and it’s those classes where I’ve really gone above and beyond, enjoyed studying for my AP tests, and connected with my teachers. Part of the reason I was so stubborn in #2 is because I was dead set on taking these AP classes that I knew I would love and have loved.

5

Keep a really open mind. Coming in my freshman year, I was 100% sure I wanted to go into science. I bet you can’t guess what I’m going to say next. Well, here it is: now I really don’t know what I want to go into. You didn’t think I was going to say that, did you?

High school is about finding what you love, what you want to do, and working hard to get there. And if you have no idea what you want to do, find what you love, work hard, and you’ll end up right where you need to be.

Congrats to the class of 2016 and to the class of 2017… someone tell me we aren’t really going to be graduating already.
4 responses to “A Cheesy Post Of Things To Remember In High School

  1. Congratulations on your graduation! I’m glad you always found time for these posts and hope they helped you de-stress when you had a hard day ahead of you! Great advice; I may there this with my incoming freshman!
    Anna J. Adams (formerly Heather McCubbin)–still have the blog Pushing the Pen! http://www.annajadams.blogspot.com

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

