Represented and Proud.

kamala_harris

In the aftermath of this historic yet disappointing election, all we liberals seem to be able to do is finger-point, rant, and denounce the reality of Donald Trump as our president-elect. We can’t change the election, we can’t change the results, and we certainly can’t change our anger over this new regressive era in U.S. politics. The following is a modified version of a Facebook post I made in the days following the election results and the announcement of Donald Trump as our 45th president.

Right now, there’s a lot of negativity going around whatwith the upcoming Trump presidency and rise of xenophobia, homophobia, (insert phobia of your choice here), and the general fear of diversity in America. But I wanted to take a moment to think about the entirety of this election.

I am represented by some of the most amazing members of the 115th Congress of the United States.

As a liberal, I am represented in the House of Representatives by Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, who in 2007 became the first female Speaker of the House. As a Californian, I am represented in the Senate by Senator Dianne Feinstein (one of California’s first female senators along with our outgoing junior Senator, Senator Barbara Boxer), who introduced the Federal Assault Weapons Ban and called for the decriminalization of medical marijuana, and Senator-Elect Kamala Harris, a woman of mixed Jamaican/Indian descent, whose first action as Senator-Elect was to meet with immigrants and their families to promote the protection of America’s diversity. As a person, I can volunteer with or donate to organizations like Planned Parenthood, the Sierra Club, The International Refugee Assistance Project, EMILY’s List, The Trevor Project, the ACLU, The Natural Resources Defense Councilthe Southern Poverty Law Center, and the NAACP

Write a letter to your congressional representatives. Encourage your mayor to make your city a safe haven. Donate and volunteer with these organizations. There are still a lot of ways left to fight.

The presidential race this year was more than disappointing, and showed, to put it very simply, what a fragmented and bigoted country we can be. But even though it feels like my voice as a woman and person of color is being drowned out, and I am being shouted down for my race and gender by my own country, I am more represented than I think. This country has a long way to go. But for those of us who have been marginalized by our President-Elect’s rhetoric and supporters, it’s important to realize that we are not alone, and together we have the power to change the politics, image, and ethics of our country. The election may be over, but our fight for equality never will be.

I am still proud to be an American.

IMAGE: KAMALA HARRIS
4 responses to “Represented and Proud.

  1. Wonderful post! Every day since November 8, I’ve gotten out of bed depressed, stressed, and afraid of the future. Thanks for the reminder that we still have some fantastic people working in our government. (The representatives here in PA are a bit grimmer, I’m afraid, but our country does have all the great people you mentioned in this post.)

    • Thank you! I was raised (along with the rest of my generation, I think) to believe that racism no longer existed, that anything bad that happened was a vestige of the past, and I hadn’t really acknowledged the fact that racism existed to the extent it does until this year, despite having felt its effects for my entire life. I’ve always admired the Republican party for their ability to stick to their opinions and support each other and all Americans in the face of whatever came their way, although I may not have always agreed with them. I’m center-left (drawn to the left mostly because of social issues) and I really believe a healthy America needs two parties to battle out the issues and to keep our policymakers on their toes. Seeing what has happened to or what really existed beneath the America that I love and the party I admire is really saddening. At least I know that millennials will turn the map blue in terms of acceptance of women, LGBTQIA+ folks, and immigrants in twenty years.

  2. Pingback: 2016. | Books and Bark·

  3. Pingback: Why I Blog | Books and Bark·

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

