End-Of-High-School TBR

In a little over five months, I’ll be headed off to college, probably with under five physical books and a Kindle in tow. Looking at my bookshelf (or my entire room) you can tell that my TBR pile is… er… just a teeny bit bigger than that. Basically, I think I need to finish everything that I have a physical copy of that’s still on my TBR pile before I leave for college. So here I give you a rather long and slightly scary list of all the books that I need to read in the next five months.

img_0075.jpg
HARRY POTTER (Books 2-7) in French

THESE COVERS ARE SO BEAUTIFUL. I mean, I still like the original Harry Potter covers (I have like two copies of each original edition in hardcover and paperback except for Goblet of Fire, I think), but these are super beautiful. Also very French. Plus, a great learning tool. Also, if you don’t know what Harry Potter is or who wrote it… *throws Order of the Phoenix at you*.

THE RAVEN KING by Maggie Stiefvater

So I pre-ordered this back in 2016 but then AP tests happened and then I was away basically the whole summer and then I came back and now I’m re-reading the entire Raven Cycle because I kind of honestly can’t remember any of what happened?

IMG_1158.JPG

For some reason I never talked about going to the Women’s March?? Well, I did. Have a picture a month too late.

HARD CHOICES by Hillary Rodham Clinton

I bought this book when we thought we were going to have Clinton 45. We all know how that turned out, but I’d definitely love to see how being a woman/being shorter than literally everyone in your profession has impacted her life. Also, I have the book, so why not?

CHALLENGER DEEP by Neal Shusterman

I bought this one like… three years ago?? Anyway, it’s from my favorite small local bookshop and it’s signed and everything and I’d really like to read it at some point.

IMG_0045.JPG

Most expensive chocolate ever. Also, best-tasting.

THE TEMPEST/A MIDSUMMER NIGHT’S DREAM/KING LEAR by William Shakespeare

I KNOW I KNOW this is technically three books. Basically, we go to Oregon every year for the Shakespeare festival in Ashland, and I buy books. Which I sometimes read. And I sometimes do not. And I really need to read these.

GONE GIRL by Gillian Flynn

My friend bought this for me for my birthday my freshman year of high school, when the movie came out. Somehow, I just never got around to reading it?

BETWEEN SHADES OF GRAY by Ruta Sepetys

I’ve heard so many good things about this book! Another one of my friends got this for me my sophomore year for another one of my birthdays. But also it’s about World War II so this book = sadness.

img_0599.jpg

Technically not on this list, but still, GO READ IT.

ALEXANDER HAMILTON by Ron Chernow

I got this for my birthday when my mother realized I was (1) obsessed with the soundtrack from Hamilton: An American Musical and (2) strangely liked to read historical nonfiction. Since I recently finished My Own Words (Ruth Bader Ginsburg is THE BEST) I think it’s time to give this 500-page history a shot.

I think I’ll stop at ~15 books. I mean, there are probably more I’m forgetting about (not to mention the ones on my Kindle and some of the ones I just ordered on Amazon/will probably buy from bookstores… oops) but I’ll save some of my dignity by ending the list here.

What’s on your TBR for the next five-ish months? Also, which one of these should I read first?
16 responses to “End-Of-High-School TBR

        • That’s good to know, since I’m always looking for new perspectives! (Speaking of unique sides of World War II, if you’re looking for them in film form, I just saw an amazing movie called Woman in Gold about paintings plundered from rich Austrian Jews by the Nazis that I’d highly recommend.)

          • That sounds really good, I’ll have to check it out. I find the war so eye opening to see how people were treated and all the unconventional parts that we aren’t told about often.

                    • Well, I mean, basically GED = high school diploma that’s not received traditionally (so basically if you receive a GED you’re homeschooled/online educated/took an unusual path toward education). I think it’s the same for the GCSE in the UK?

                    • GCSE are the exams we take at the end of high school and everyone who goes to high school will complete them when we’re 15/16. If you’re homeschooled or online educated you still do GCSEs but online do it as the igcse so they learn all the course online and homeschooled learn normal gcse but all go do it in an exam hall sitting. Confusing a little😂😂!!

                    • Oh I see! We have exit exams for high school per state. Like for California, the CAHSEE (California High School Exit Exam) is taken in 10th grade (age 15-16). If you pass, you’re eligible to graduate high school and earn your diploma. If you don’t pass, you retake it until you pass. In New York, they’re called Regents Examinations, in Pennsylvania, it’s called the Keystone Exam, and Florida has the FCAT. All of the tests have slightly different requirements depending on the state’s standards for education (a California exit exam will be easier than a New York exit exam because California has an overall worse education infrastructure) and some states don’t have exit exams at all since they’re not mandated by federal law. It’s really complicated because of states (something I know you guys don’t have in the UK) and the federal system. President Obama tried to unify education a bit by implementing Common Core, but we all know how that turned out, haha.

                    • Wow that’s complicated, our schools in the U.K. (State schools) are generally really poor on education/behaviour, only if you go to high end grammar schools or private/public schools do you end up with a really decent education. We have better schools in some areas of the uk, we have countys in the U.K. which are similar to states only a lot smaller and some have better education than others (generally southern U.K. has better schools and education that northern U.K. Which I can prove – I’ve been to school in the very northern U.K. In Yorkshire and it was bad, and I’m now down south in Wiltshire and it’s slightly better😂)!!

  1. Gone Girl is absolutely terrifying, but you can’t stop watching (I haven’t read the book). It’s one of the most fascinating and intense stories ever. I kind of want to read the book, but then I know everything that will happen so that takes the suspense out. Plus, there are just so many other books to read (I’m sure you know the feeling 😉 ).
    Sorry for the late comment. I haven’t seen your post in my reader for a while. 😦 I thought you just hadn’t posted anything. But I saw one today, and….oh wow, there are quite a few posts I’ve missed. It’s good to see you again! I’ve missed you! 🙂
    Congratulations on finishing high school. I wish you a fantastic summer break and hope your college experience is everything you hope for it to be. 🙂

    • I think I started reading it at one point and then stopped for some reason, so I’m guessing the book is slower than the movie.
      Hmm, that’s odd. I’ll have to check that out, but thanks for letting me know about the missing-posts issue! We’re all good for the late comment 🙂
      Thank you! I’m pretty excited.

      • Ah, well maybe I’ll skip it in favor of all those other books on my reading list.
        It could have just been something on my end. I have no idea….:(
        Better late than never right? 😀

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

