Book Review // These Broken Stars

13138635“Luxury spaceliner Icarus suddenly plummets from hyperspace into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive – alone. Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a cynical war hero. Both journey across the eerie deserted terrain for help. Everything changes when they uncover the truth.” 

GOODREADS // BARNES & NOBLE

This book is a pile of clichés heaped on top of another pile of clichés.

Maybe it’s because YA sci-fi and YA romance aren’t really my thing (and this combined both of them) or because I’ve read too many YA sci-fi/romance books for my own good, but this book was downright predictable. Let’s see how many clichés we can find:

  • tough boy from low-class world loves beautiful girl from high-class world
  • said beautiful girl doesn’t know she’s absolutely beeeaaaaauuuutiiiiifuulllll
  • they like each other but they can’t say it
  • also, forbidden romance
  • stranded on a planet with no one but themselves, they are forced to confess their lurrrrve for each other

I think there’s more but really, if I list them all, this whole post will just be a collection of all the clichés present in this book.

Also, is the plot of every Amie Kaufman book the same?

Maybe it’s just me, but I just read Illuminae (also YA sci-fi/romance coauthored by Amie Kaufman) and somehow the plots were carbon copies of each other. Okay, maybe not the exact same, because admittedly, I liked Illuminae a lot better than I liked this one, but we have:

  • spaceship malfunction
  • overbearing, larger-than-life parent figure
  • families as motivation for the end to the crisis
  • crisis forces two teenagers to confront their feelings about each other
  • interview transcripts of the event in question
  • corporation performing questionable activities in outerspace
  • terraforming

But I mean, even if they all are quite similar, that woman can write a fishy-corporation-with-overbearing-parent-and-spaceship-malfunction story quite well.

Also the writing… was a bit flowery.

A lot of people think the writing is absolutely beautiful, so this is probably just me, but I thought the writing was a bit overdone. It was compelling, but sometimes I felt it was trying too hard to be beautiful and it didn’t explicitly state a lot of the actions that the characters took that were important to the story, but rather left you to assume that the characters had successfully or unsuccessfully reached a goal based on other descriptions.

The plot was AMAZING, but it didn’t make much sense.

Like I said before: Amie Kaufman. There’s a GAPING plot hole at the end. Like, MASSIVE. And while I believe in suspension of disbelief, to an extent, when I’m reading, you can’t have a plot hole that big and have a book that makes sense. Maybe it’s because I do like non-YA-romance sci-fi, like Ender’s Game, but I thought that the end could use a bit more of an explanation. From what I understand, the trilogy focuses on three different groups of people, so I’m really not expecting to find my answers in the next book, or ever.

I think I can safely conclude that YA sci-fi/romance is not my thing. Perhaps you’ll like this book if YA sci-fi/romance is your thing.

I’ll probably read the next book, just because Amie Kaufman does write some amazing plots and I haven’t read Gemina (the sequel to Illuminae) yet, so I think the overarching storyline will be harder to guess. There are a TON of amazing people who love this book. Me? It just wasn’t my cup of tea.

2.5/5 WAGGING TAILS

2.5tails1

Stay tuned for my next posts, in which I talk about watching Marvel for the first time(!!) and also maybe La La Land.

Tell me your thoughts, minions!

